Homemade Water Slide

Ok, so I have been promising my husband a water slide for at least a year, maybe two.  I keep finding work in the garden, with the goats, or doing school stuff with the boys. My poor husband keeps getting put off, and that is wrong, so today I promised to make time for his ideas. So many of his dreams have been buried for the practical, and so I guess I just want to tell him thanks. He’s an awesome husband and father!

Anyway, back to the slide (you don’t really want to hear the mushy stuff, do you?). Well, we had this slide that comes on those “cheap” metal swing-sets, and it wasn’t much fun for the kids, nor was it particularly safe. We had the idea we could turn it into a water slide, so that is what we set about doing today. *NOTE! This is only what we have done, and I do not recommend it to you. If you copy this idea, you do so at your own risk!


First, we made a box to secure to our deck to hold the front of the slide in place, like a cradle of sorts. We wrapped a piece of padded carpet under it and over the wood to protect the kids in case they hit it.

Under the ladder/platform end, we built a box that we secured to the deck. We then made cross supports to keep the slide from shifting to either side. The slide itself is attached to this framework with the bolt hole provided for attaching it to the swing-set.

At the bottom of the ladder we attached a piece of wood to the deck, and then used a clip to screw the ladder in place. Now the slide will not move in any direction, forward, back, up, down, or side-to-side.

JJ was our test pilot. He loved it! Both boys enjoyed the slide tremendously, despite the cold water!

More pics of the boys playing on the slide in another post 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Water Slide

  1. Pingback: The Many Faces | Nigerianmeadows's Farm Diary

Leave a Reply

