Mary, Mary, How Does Your Garden Grow?

Mary Mary quite contrary,
How does your garden grow?
With silver bells and cockle shells
And pretty maids all in a row.

While this poem has some possibly gruesome origins, today it’s a sweet little nursery rhyme, and while weeding the garden today I thought of it. I also thought I would share some of my pretty veggies and flowers growing so nicely.

Heirloom Carrot, 2nd Year for Seeding

Lettuce alt. Carrots, Radishes

Broccoli Staggered with Potatoes

Now, I know it’s not fancy, but that is only a small portion, and can you believe how much food is there already, and only going to be May tomorrow?! FYI, the broccoli and potatoes are doing really well together. I like this pairing, and have had zero pests on either plants. Insects seem completely fooled, and the broccoli shades the potatoes.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mary, Mary, How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Very nice, Miss Mary!

  2. Natalie says:

    I have never really had any LUCK growing carrotts always small and tough.
    Hopefully soon i can start planting we have had so much rain here in southern Ohio. It’s nice to see you garden grow…

    • I didn’t used to. The trick seems to be a deep garden bed and regular water, then they grow long and sweet. My parents are in MI, and have been having snow! Hope you can get your garden in soon 🙂

  3. Ozarkhomesteader says:

    I think it’s absolutely gorgeous! I hadn’t known that broccoli and potatoes made good companions, either. I have to try that!

Leave a Reply

