Half done :-)

So, the last week or so I have been slowly, really, really slowly, working on a sun shelter by the pool so guests who don’t want to sit in the hot sun can join us for pool-time fun in comfort. I keep fighting the urge to over-build, but the point is that it’s cheap and shelter, not a permanent structure that has to stand forever. It will do fine for the next 5 or ten years. Here are a few pictures as I finished for tonight to start regular chores.

You see that black pole in the background? It’s the fire siren :-/ย  Maybe the shelter will help with that too!

All I’m putting on this is a cloth that keeps most of the sun out and allows air through, so all I needed was 2×4’s. Still tempted to add the bracing in between each.

Now I’m sore and have to go milk with my blistered hands and black thumbs ๐Ÿ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Half done :-)

  1. Heath says:

    If anybody wants to see video of a project on this pool from a couple of weeks ago, here it is.

  2. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Good job! You are amazing …

  3. LindaG says:

    If you get any sort of wind, you’ll probably definitely want the bracing. Great work though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I know, lol! I am doing corner bracing and attaching it to the barn, just wasn’t sure about between the rafters. Eventually it’s supposed to have vines covering it for shade, but this year it will be cloth. What do you think, can I get away without those ones? Or do you think the wind will rip the cloth off?

Leave a Reply

