Floors and Blisters

Today I had some work to choose from! How’s that for a start to the day? This job, or that job, haha 🙂  Anyway, out of three major choices, I decided to choose the one that smelled like it needed doing first; the milk parlor floor.

This is the milking parlor at the start of work today. The dirt patch is the a/c pad area I removed a couple weeks ago. The other one had to be removed today and I wanted to do more stone-work over the rest of the floor. I really don’t like milking over dirt, it’s messy!

I’m holding up the 100 lb. a/c pad here. The stench….well, see that black blob? That’s whats left of the rat, and it’s full of, well, you can guess.

So, once I hauled that out, I leveled the dirt as best I could and tamped it down by foot.  Then I hauled the first bags of concrete. At this point 80 lbs. doesn’t feel so bad as I lift each one.

Next, I get my hose, bucket and shovel to start mixing the stuff. It needs to look like quick bread mix before it get’s poured in the pan.

Now I position the form against the stones I ended on and pour in the concrete, smoothing it out and making sure all the pockets are full. While it sets a minute I go mix enough concrete for the next one.

By the time I get halfway through, 8o lbs. is starting to feel a little heavier. JJ decides to step on one of the wet “stones”, then say’s “oops!” and I banish the kids to their rooms for an early nap.

20 bags of concrete later,

and some very dirty, tired me,

we have a floor.

Now I just have to figure out where I’m milking tonight 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Floors and Blisters

  1. Heath says:

    What about the part where you opened the door and the dog ran in and left her prints on the new floor.

  2. LindaG says:

    Wow. You did a great job! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. NATALIE says:

    I LIKE YOUR FLOOR. IT’S ALOT OF HARD WORK ISN’T IT!

  4. Thank you, Linda and Natalie 🙂 And yes, it is a lot of hard work, but so worth it all!

  5. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    What a clever mold for the concrete. Looks great … good job! I hope my husband never finds out the kinds of things you do around the urban farm. I might drop a notch or two in his estimation of me :~0

    • Thanks. Somehow I think your husband is quite proud of you and what you do and wouldn’t compare you to anyone. I also bet he enjoys pleasing you by the things he does. You are a great team and good example for your kids and those who know you 🙂

  6. laura little says:

    You, girl, are awesome. I would be jealous, except I don’t have the energy. 😉

Leave a Reply

