Wish I had a camera phone!

Yesterday was spent on the road picking up goats from South Carolina, only I realized midway there that they were not near Augusta, SC, they were near Augusta, Georgia! Yes, it was a long trip, a total of 10 hours driving and two 1hr. stops, one to put goats in the mini-van, and one to drop goats off at a friends. As I drove I wished over and over for a camera phone so I could capture those funny little things!

One of those funny things was the license plates I saw! “SEXY DVR”, “MISS ME”, and one with an apple pictured with the numbers 123 🙂  The apple one was on a mini-cooper, bright red and black, and the driver was a crazy lady that played ping-pong with the lines on either side of her lane. As I pulled even to pass her (sure didn’t want to stay behind her!) I peeked. She had a cute little nose that barely reached the top of the steering wheel, and was talking on the phone as she tried to see where she was going. Dangerous, but I found it funny so long as I got past her!

Then there was the goats in the mini-van. I packed 5 in there and they were packed up to the back of my seat. Some goats stay quiet, and some talk a lot. They must have thought they could communicate with the GPS since every time it talked they set up a storm of Maaa-ing and Baaa-ing, and general grunts. I think they were telling tio hush, it was ruining their sleep in the nice air-conditioned van 🙂

Oh, and getting gas was fun too, lol! Some people would stop to peek inside, others (like one woman) got surprised at the racket suddenly starting and jumped three feet to high-tail it to their car looking over their shoulder at my van like it was possessed. I don’t think she liked goats 😉

I also figure the girls must have wanted to impress me with their smell. 5 minutes in, Wisteria just HAD to pee. Then again 30 minutes later, and three others followed her lead. Then the poop started. They have been eating peanut hay, and it sort of smelled. I opened the windows a bit for the rest of the ride. I would recommend trailers, lol! But, we all arrived to our homes safe and sound, and today if the rain lets up I will clean the inside of my van so it smells a bit less like a barn. Hope you got a laugh too 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wish I had a camera phone!

  1. Meghan Grace says:

    WHAT???? Not like goats???!??? Not sure what type of person is like THAT! Probably someone who doesn’t like kittens and puppies! I would have loved riding with you all on that trip! Glad you made that LOOONG trip safely!

  2. laura little says:

    Nothing like traveling with goats in your vehicle. I applaud your fortitude for enduring the peeing and pooping for such a long time and wish the carpet a speedy recovery. 🙂

  3. Haha, Meghan! Would have been fun riding with you 🙂

    Thanks, Laura! It still smells like a barn in there, but maybe it will get better 😉

Leave a Reply

