Loops of Life

This has been a full week, full of laughter, family, love. It was good! I got to see my sister, whom I only see once a year at best, and to top it off, we got to spend quality time with my soon-to-be brother-in-law 🙂  They have been together almost as long as my husband and I have been married, but we have had little time to really get to know him, so it was wonderful to have a whole week with him here.

Now they have gone home, and took our little boys with them to visit their Grammy and Grumpy, so I’m a little lost. They left early this morning, packing stuffed dogs and favorite pillows, those little things kids do for security. Waved goodbye to their Daddy and I with hardly a worry, intent on their coming adventures. It sure is hard to send them off that first time.

After the kids left, my hubby went to work for his last day before we would have a weekend together, alone, for the first time in 8 years. I got busy baking a cake for our homeschool graduation/promotion ceremony. Right after putting the cake in the oven, the phone rang. The chicks were in at the post office, 2 days late. I hadn’t milked yet, so I ran out to do that while the cake finished baking.

I got back inside to the sound of the timer on the stove yelling the cake was ready. Then I ran out to pick up the little chicks. I was supposed to be getting hotel reservations for a trip this weekend with my husband, but much to my dismay his work interfered. I guess we won’t be getting that together time we hoped for, but the cake was made, the chicks picked up to be brooded by a friend, I had some good quality time with another friend (who let me cry on her shoulder) and our children arrived safely at their grandparents and got to laugh over the phone as their Daddy told them stories, full of noisy bodily function sounds. It is good. Now, at 3 a.m., I await my husband’s return from work so we can get some sleep. Hopefully we can enjoy the rest of our weekend in peace 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

