On Clipping Goats

I have spent the better part of today clipping my goats. You may ask “why?”. We don’t show (at least, not yet), and we don’t have a linear appraisal.  So why cut off all their hair?

Here is why I do it. I like seeing my goats body condition before breeding. I like knowing if there is illness I should be aware of, or any injuries that might be escaping my attention under all that hair. And I love looking at a healthy goat body! When you clip a goat, the whole body shows up, flaws and problems, as well as good health. It helps me better know my goats and see better how to breed them for improvement in weak areas. I can also see problems sooner with less hair, such as sores or infection in a wound. Clipping also allows the sun to kill of winter lice if they are present, and helps keep the goat cooler. I don’t clip as close as if I were taking them to a show since their hair helps protect them from sunburn, flies, and biting insects of all types, but I do trim it close enough I can see the skin easily.

This year I have been very pleased with my clipping. The goats skin look good, the hair soft and shiny. Only one so far has had any sign of lice, and that was a few eggs on her rump, by no means an infestation. There are no sores showing, and everyone is looking so very good!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Clipping Goats

  1. Urban Farm Girl says:

    You inspired me to clip my disbudded goat awhile back. I like it so much I have been considering clipping everybody else, even the ones with horns for thermoregulation. It’s been so hot early that I anticipate a hot summer. They should be much cooler without all that hair. Thanks for the post!

    • Why thank you! That means a lot coming from you. I have so much respect for both you and your husband. I would love to see some pics of your girls all clipped on your blog!

Leave a Reply

