Goat Feeding Changes

We are transitioning to a new feeding program with our goats. In the past we have used Noble Goat Dairy Parlor and Purina Goat Chow, both of which are great from time to time, but they have again changed the formula and the goats won’t touch the feed. I have had this happen 3 times, and end up stuck with useless feed. Because of that, I decided to do some research into other options. No other goat feed is available here that I like, so I have now switched to the Dumor 16% Mare and Foal, with oats and sunflower seed added. So far the goats are loving it, and horse feed tends to be more stable as far as ingredients. Goats need that too, but it seems most manufacturers don’t understand that. I really like the ingredient label on the Mare and Foal! It has selenium, something we are always deficient on here, and matches the vitamin specs pretty well on the goat feed. There seem to be only good, quality ingredients in it, and it costs less than the Goat Chow. Amazing! It also seems to have less molasses, which is something I was looking for since I don’t think the goats need that.

Now, I am no expert, and haven’t run all the “specs” on my mix, and if you decide to copy me I do NOT take responsibility (unless it’s good 😉  ) if you try it, but here is what I am doing.

  • 100 lbs. Dumor Mare & Foal sweet feed
  • 50 lbs. Black Oil Sunflower Seed (BOSS)
  • 50 lbs. Whole Oats
  • 4 lbs. Yeast mixture for livestock

I mix all these together real good, and feed as I would the goat chow. I also have loose minerals out, baking soda, and rye-grass hay all day, plus pasture and in the morning and evening a bucket of alfalfa chaffhaye. The goats are looking really good! Here is a picture of Calico devouring her feed mix.

And this is Ammi asking for more;

And this is Adina digging into the Chaffhaye bag. They all love to grab a bite before being sent out the door!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goat Feeding Changes

  1. I have been using the Noble Goat Dairy Parlor and switched to the Purina Goat Chow, I noticed that the parlor was half dust and pellets. Goats stopped eating it. so I mixed the Chow in to switch them over to it and they are not fans of it. I do use BOSS and Manna Pro Goat Balancer, and alfalfa pellets.With using the the Dumor Mare & Foal sweet feed how is Milk production? I have noticed mine has drooped since this feed issue.

Leave a Reply

