Digging Potatoes

It was time to do some garden work, and my favorite kind! Reaping the rewards of what we sow!!! While JJ picked squash bugs and eggs off the zucchini, Jameson and I dug for gold, rubies, and sapphires; potatoes! This is our harvest from 9 plants in our raised garden bed. We grew them with broccoli between and both seemed to help each other. This is the best potato harvest I have had!

Jewels

Look at all that color! Jameson and JJ were amazed that potatoes came in more than two colors. Even the dog ran to see!

Boys and their Bounty

I love their grins 🙂

Showing Off for Grammy and Gramps

We ate some of their bounty for supper. They were not too sure about eating purple potatoes, but found out they tasted normal and good!

Today's Blessings

Now we have to keep some set aside to develop eyes for a fall planting and harvest 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Digging Potatoes

  1. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Congratulations on your potato harvest. We had a great one last year, but this year’s crop is a disappointment. We used our own potatoes from last year as the “seed”, and I think that is the problem. Should have gotten a bag from the hardware store to start the new season.
    Enjoy!

    • I think you have to either get heirloom spuds or treat them or something. I have had some we just left in the soil by accident produce well. I really hope the purple/blue ones do well! I’m sorry yours didn’t do well 😦

  2. LindaG says:

    Congratulations! That is fantastic!
    I’ve not thought to try purple ones, either. 😉

    • Thanks 🙂 They don’t bleed in the water either, something I wondered about. It is such fun to put all the colors on your plate! We had carrots, and greens of all kinds with them, and it was a lovely sight!

  3. laura little says:

    On a related “colored vegetable” note, we are tying peaches and cream corn this year and I have been nervous about the color, but you have reassured me. A little. Maybe if I eat it with my eyes closed.

Leave a Reply

