Tip and Funny Story

So, I have been clipping goats, removing the long hair to make them cooler. Yesterday I did three, leaving me with two more today and I will be done! Well, I decided to start with the 6 month old doe. She turned out so lovely! All the does have been in heat (ready to reproduce), but I didn’t think she was. She wasn’t too happy about the clipping, but we got her done.

After clipping the girl, I decided it was time to do the shaggy buck and see what was under all that hair. He’s normally a shy buck, but when he saw me coming his only thought was “girls!” and he ran for the barn. It dissapointed him terribly to get on the stand for clipping! šŸ™‚

Anyway, I got busy, starting at his tail and working forward. All was well until I got near his face. He started snorting and flapping his tongue, then he pee’ed! Ewww!! It would seem my apron smelled very like the doeling I had just done, and she must have been in heat. The whole time I was clipping his neck and face he was snorting, huffing, and spitting at me! From now on I do believe I will to the boys first. šŸ™‚ Oh, and he turned out lovely, even if I was covered in spit!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tip and Funny Story

  1. LindaG says:

    Oh gosh, haha!

    And yes, they are beautiful! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

