Herbal Wormer Idea

I do a mix of herbs and chemicals these days with my goats, though I had wanted to use just herbs. That works fine in dry weather, but this spring was so wet I had to use chemicals. I sure am glad I have both available. I still like the herbs better, but with so many goats it was getting to be a real chore to make them eat the dosage balls I was making. They really didn’t like them. Sooo…I have been thinking about what another breeder told me about how her goats love the wormwood branches she brings them, and how my goats eat dried oak leaves (which contain tannin, a part of my wormers in the form of black walnut hull) and I thought, “hey, if the goats eat what they need, and like this stuff normally, why not just set it out for them?”. So began the “experiment”!

I made up an herbal mixture of dried wormwood (it is still not known for sure if it causes miscarriage), mustard powder, black walnut hull, and thyme and the goats went at it like candy. They stopped after they had what I would consider a dose, and this morning they all look so good! They sneeze from the powders, so a thicker grind of some things would be better, but this made the herbs so easy! And they can each get exactly what they need without me guessing. It will take time to see if it’s effective, but so far I like it. In particular, they seem to want the wormwood more than the other stuff.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herbal Wormer Idea

  1. LindaG says:

    That’s really interesting. I’ve heard that animals will do that.
    I wonder why they eat poison ivy, though. 🙂

    Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

