Birthdays

Today was my birthday. Well, still is, I suppose 😉  It’s my husbands, too. Really! I was born on his 13th birthday as he battled an allergic reaction and thought he was going to go blind. And to think his soul mate was born that day. I hope it wasn’t a sign…

Anyway, today has been wonderful. My husband’s parents took us all out to lunch, then came over for a visit. We have had far too little time with them of late! We spent a lot of time together, and while the boys rested, my husband and I had some time to go swimming alone. I was let be to read this afternoon, a favorite pastime for me (historical romance *grin*), and we dreamed of boats before facing the reality that we need a new roof. Lot’s of birthday wishes from friends and family too! I feel really special 🙂

The end of the day is a bit sad as I went to do chores (that’s what happens when your spouse gives you goats for presents every year, lol! Blessing and curse 😉  ) and found one of my laying hens had drowned in a water bucket. I told my husband that, while I was replacing the flock this year, I really hadn’t planned to do it this way, and it was rather inconsiderate of the hen to drown on my birthday. He responded that the hen probably didn’t care for it either. Well. Now that I’m put back into my place….

So, now I’m listening to Toy Story for the second time today and watching the boys eat Peep’s (thank’s to Grandma and Grandpa) while I smile thinking back on my day. It was good, and all that I would ask. I feel full up from the love and blessings, and the knowledge that whatever tomorrow brings, I will never have to be a teenager again 😉

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthdays

  1. Heath says:

    I actually did go blind temporarily about two days before my 13th birthday. I had been playing in a corn field and the Doctors said that I was allergic to a chemical that had been sprayed on the corn field.

Leave a Reply

