Experimenting With Software

I do a lot of photography, and I also do a lot of work in different editing programs. Currently I use the GIMP and Microsoft Office Picture Manager, but I have always dreamed of using Adobe Photoshop. I had this idea that it would be better and easier to use than what I do now in GIMP, so I decided to download a free trial version of CS5.

CS5 is like a good bit of GIMP, and after the learning curve I could use it okay, and it could do a few things not currently in GIMP and some actions were easier to perform (like 2 things different), but it lacked many of the things I like using such as easy frames and and quick edits. For the amazing amount of money the program costs that was unacceptable.

After fiddling with CS5 for a day I removed it and downloaded Adobe Photoshop Elements 9 free trial. That one was supposed to have all the easy stuff. Well, MS Picture Manager and GIMP do all those functions too, plus being able to perform more actions like CS5 anytime I want to with GIMP. Not to mention, if you want ALL the stuff available in Photoshop, you have to pay the yearly fee for the “Plus” version. Yeah, right. Like I want to do that when MS Picture Manager is already included on my computer and GIMP is free!

I haven’t tried Lightroom yet, and don’t think it’s worth taking the hour or two to download. If I need a good photo library I can use Picassa (free), and while you can do edits and work with the other Adobe programs, why spend the money when what I have will do it all? Frankly, I was amazed at how little I liked the programs after seeing so much hype about them. Guess that shows what advertising can do!

So, I’m much more satisfied with what I have now and not drooling over the greener side of the fence since now I know it’s not really greener. GIMP is basically CS5 and Elements combined, and is freeware created by a group of people that like what Adobe products can do but want to make the same things work better. I had to buy a book on how to use the program, but I would need a book on each of Adobe’s programs too. None of them are THAT simple! Also, my current programs work much faster than the ones from Adobe, something else that shocked me. I am running them on a lap-top, and the Adobe programs took minutes for each action, where in GIMP the same action would take seconds.

So, to end this blog post, here is a photograph I edited in GIMP in under 2 minutes (I made a copy, opened in GIMP, cropped, added a black layer, re-sized the top layer flower which I had adjusted the brightness and contrast on slightly, added a text layer of the font, size and style I wanted, then re-sized the whole image for the web). I could have played more with color and effects, but I like this picture as-is.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Experimenting With Software

  1. LindaG says:

    Wow.
    I understand what you did, but it still seems pretty technical.
    Gorgeous photo! May have to give GIMP a try if I want to play with my pictures, because Picasa is not good for much more than basic editing – though that could be because I’m dense. đŸ˜‰

    • Picassa is pretty good for the basics. It does more than MS Picture Manager in some respects. If you get GIMP downloaded, expect to need a book to really show you how to use it, or watch a bunch of tutorials. I bought a book and went through it like a textbook and it really helped. I still don’t fully utilize it, but I can if I want to.

  2. laura little says:

    My husband was given a great piece of advice when he left one job for another: “The grass may be greener on the other side, but that’s because someone over there already pooped in it.” While a little uncouth, it is often the case.

Leave a Reply

