Summer Heat and Chaffhaye

Well, it’s hot in the south. I am still feeding the goats Chaffhaye, and wanted to update my experience with it. As some of you may remember, I started using it last year near the summer’s end when hay got real hard to find and after we had a miserable summer from hay dropping on the barn floor and molding within a day or two. My workload was horrible, and the health of the animals not as good as I wanted if I missed a day cleaning the barn. My hope was that this summer would be better with the chaffhaye.

So, June is here, and temps have been close to 100 degrees for a few weeks. Humidity has been awful the last 2 weeks, but my barn is dry and pleasant. I haven’t had to clean the bedding out since spring cleaning, so it’s been a couple of months. I am providing some baled hay to give the goats longer fiber and keep them from getting bored, but they still prefer the Chaffhaye.

One thing I am truly seeing is that you need a shelter from the sun and heat for the bags of Chaffhaye. If there is a pocket of air in the bag at all, it will mold in direct sun and heat. I have also found that the whole bag isn’t ruined from this, only a layer, and I find it’s easier to remove the molded section and feed the rest of the bag than to take it back to the dealer to be replaced. The bags stored in the shade do better.

Now that it’s hot out, I also find I feed a lot less Chaffhaye or the goats will tend to get fat, so it’s good to have something else available for them to munch on as well. I am still liking it very much and am finding it to be cost effective in the long run. My goats all look fabulous, and their milk is the creamiest compared to the previous 2 years when we didn’t feed the Chaffhaye. Anyway, if you are looking into buying Chaffhaye, keep in mind during summer months you may need a shade shelter, but the product is still very good from what I have seen. I do believe if you contact the company they will send you a sample of hay, and I have found them on Facebook, where they sometimes have contests and drawings for hay.

Adina and her bag of Chaffhaye 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer Heat and Chaffhaye

  1. Lisa LoCurto says:

    Hey Jordana,
    I love the convenience, less waste, consistency and overall improvement on my herd as well, Great Stuff 🙂 your original posting on it was what motivated me to try it! Thanks for your blogs!
    Lisa

    • Thanks, Lisa! For those of you who don’t know, Lisa is also raising nigerian dwarf goats and is in eastern Tennessee. She has a great breeding program started, and blessed me with a buckling this year. I love her farm and management, her goats are happy and healthy! You should definitely check out her website and see what she is working toward.

  2. Lisa LoCurto says:

    Thanks Jordana, your little guys granddam (Dora’s dam) JNels Delight was Grand Champ, Res Grand, Best of Breed and Best Udder last week at the NEWDGA show in WA. She is owned by Sunset Lake Farms and I believe it was her 1st time shown.

    • That is so cool! Wow! I can’t wait to see what he does next year. I am trying to get some weight on him after the move before using him for breeding. He is looking really nice in his shape and skin 🙂 I figure he will do my mid-winter breeding.

  3. LindaG says:

    Congratulations and thanks for the update!

  4. wezzy says:

    You are right my friend ,my animal’s look heathy and love the chaf and nothing is worsted and no cleaning .how much do you feed yours

Leave a Reply

