Unmolding soap

I unmolded some of my soap yesterday. The lavender one was still pretty soft, and I couldn’t get it to release from the shaped molds, but the larger blocks were okay. I think I should have waited to do a shaped mold with it until I could re-batch it. On the other hand, the recipe I created is looking good so far. It is firmer, with an earthy or fresh baked nut muffin smell. I didn’t use any essential oils in it, just nutmeg and cinnamon, so it’s scent will be more mild.

Lavender soap, with lavender flowers. It is a hair/body bar

Almond Honey Goat Milk Soap, my recipe

Shaped Almond Honey Goat Milk Soap

So, that’s what I have been working on in between canning peach jam (which kept me busy all day). At this point I really like the Almond Honey soap, but the lavender bar isn’t quite like I wanted. I will know better in a few weeks. Soap is not something that gives instant gratification! 🙂  If the Almond Honey tuns out well I will share the recipe, but beware…I used a heck of a lot of oils!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading, Natural Health, Saving Money on the Homestead, Skin Care and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unmolding soap

  1. LindaG says:

    Your soap looks great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

