Peach Cobbler (gluten, wheat, and corn-free)

We have been enjoying the bounty from our peach tree, and I made peach cobbler for breakfast again today. Now, I know most people fix this as a dessert, but I figure it’s better for us than almost any manufactured cereal, plus my kids love it! I grew up with this as a special breakfast with different fruits my Mom canned or could pick local.  I thought I would share the recipe, adapted from the one she used when I was a child for our special dietary needs 🙂  (See, I really am nice!)

Peach Cobbler

Peach Cobbler
Preheat oven to 400°F.
Fruit Mixture
~1 cup raw sugar or honey
~ 3 tablespoons arrowroot starch
~ 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
~ 12 cups sliced peaches, fresh or canned (if canned you will want to drain off the extra juice)
~ Juice of 1 lemon (about 1 tablespoon)

Drop Biscuit Topping
~ 1/2 cup shortening or butter
~ 3 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour mix of your choice
~ 3 tablespoons raw sugar
~ 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder (corn & gluten-free)
~ 1 teaspoon sea salt
~ 1 teaspoon guar gum
~ 1 1/2 cups milk

  1. Combine sugar, arrowroot starch, and cinnamon in a large pot or dutch oven. Stir in peaches and lemon juice, and heat to boiling, stirring constantly.
  2. After peach mixture has reached boiling, pour into an ungreased casserole pan or leave in dutch oven and place in oven to keep warm.
  3. In a large bowl, combine GF flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and guar gum. Cut in shortening or butter with a fork or pastry cutter. Stir in milk until just combined.
  4. Drop by spoonfulls over the hot peach mixture. Return to oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until biscuits are firm and just a touch golden. Serve warm.

Serves: a family of 6 easily with nice tall glasses of milk 🙂 It’s good cold too!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Casseroles, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

