Identifying Good and Bad Chaffhaye

I wanted to share what Chaffhaye looks like when good, as well as when there are problems. Today I opened a bag and found larva and a foul oder and mold, and it seemed like the perfect opportunity. Note that I can take bad bags back to the dealer to be replaced and am not out any money. Also, bad bags of hay do not happen that often for me, though the batch this bag was from had a lot of problems. I hope this helps some of you.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Identifying Good and Bad Chaffhaye

  1. LindaG says:

    I kept wondering why you kept touching the bad stuff. Eew.
    I do appreciate this video though. Thank you!

    • Hahaha! I find the larva fascinating, actually. I wanted to be a biologist, specifically a marine biologist, way back when I could dream without it being depressing. I like the miracle of life, and how things work together. Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed the info, if not the creepy-crawlies 🙂

  2. Chaffhaye is always moist which is why any size hole will lead to a mold problem. Actually, the smaller the hole, the bigger the problem simply because the bags are vacuum sealed. The large white chunk on your first bag looked like yeast to me (the probiotics) The larger chunks of yeast can be kind of rubbery but we just break it up and make sure all the animals get some.
    If the seal on the bag is not broken, there can be no mold because mold needs air to grow. Sorry you had some issues with this but very glad you and your critters are happy with the product!
    Denise
    NC Chaffhaye distributor

    • We are VERY happy with Chaffhaye! Regular baled hay has the same problems, but molds and blister beetles and other problems are easier to miss than with Chaffhaye. And I love that my asthma is better. Every time I handle any of the regular baled hay I can’t breath right for a day or two. And i love that I can tell when something is “off” with my hay right away, like in this bag.

  3. Forgot to mention. Chaffhaye can be store outside but it cannot be in direct sunlight. Under trees, under shelters or do what we do and keep it under a sunshade.

  4. cvranch says:

    Hi there, I am interested in switching to Chaffhaye for my NDG, I currently feed a grass hay, alfalfa pellets, 14% horse pellet as base feed, sweet feed for milkers and last month preggers, and Boss. My question is, can I cut out or back on the concentrates above ? can dry/open does and young kids just have the Chaffhaye, otherwise If I just switch chaffhaye for the grass hay my cost go up x 4. Do you give your bucks Chaffhaye? Thanks Deb

    • Hi 🙂 I’ll try and answer all this as simply as I can, just keep in mind you will have to evaluate your herd as you go.

      First, I feed my bucks the alfalfa Chaffhaye with success, in one year no stones, but I only feed enough to keep their condition good, they get pasture or grass hay primarily to fill the ruman. I feed 3 bucks 2/3 of a 5-gallon bucket of Chaffhaye daily, and pasture (winter they get dry grass hay).

      Second, all my kids and dry does get Chaffhaye and pasture, nothing else, except in winter I will give them grass hay. You will be shocked how quickly the kids grow on the stuff! I give the kids as much as they want in a creep feeder.

      Third, you can cut out the alfalfa pellets completely, and should be able to gut down the rest of the grain ration as well. Base that on the body condition. Here is one thing to consider; if fed a lot of the alfalfa Chaffhaye without enough pasture or grass hay it will cause an imbalance in the calcium to phosphorous ratio in the pregnant does. You need to feed a little bit of grain to the pregnant does to prevent that from happening if they are getting a lot of Chaffhaye. Also, I don’t give it free-choice anymore, I ration what they need out because it will make nigerian dwarf goats fat (they will eat too much if they have the chance) unless you have a lot of browse to keep them busy so they don’t eat from boredom. I feed 8 ND does 2 5-gallon buckets of Chaffhaye daily now (they are almost all pregnant, so they are getting more than when dry).

      Here is where I save money; the goats do not waste much. That saves a lot in my opinion. Parasite problems are less, and I have less barn clean-up and don’t have to replace bedding as often. I feed a lower protein grain mix, and give less of it while still maintaining body condition. All said, I break even on it. I still like some long hay in winter to keep their ruman busy though.

  5. cvranch says:

    Thanks that makes sense, yes these my little girls are such piggies, also note about Dumor feeds there was a recall but I didn’t find on what but I found this, EDIT: Dumor feeds are manufactured by Purina and sold by Tractor Supply. Please look at the first link provided….”Purina does not advertise “Dumor” on its website

    • Thanks for the recall info. I use a Dumor Mare and Foal for my milking does, mixed with some other stuff. I need to check this out. Time to start locating a local farmer that will sell me grain direct. And hopefully non-GM!

  6. I would run really fast away from anything by Purina, there have been multiple issues.

    • The sad thing is I like the Dumor feed label on what I am buying. It seemed better ingredient-wise that all the others available, but I don’t want sick animals either. I really have to start milling or mixing my own feed I guess.

  7. Barbara Smith says:

    Thank you for this video. I opened a bag thus morning and freaked out because of worms. I have a horse that has digestive issues and he gets chaffhaye. I try to be very careful what I give to him. Now I know what to look for.

Leave a Reply

