Hubby’s Toy

Okay, so every man needs his toys. Yes, it really rings true. They might give them up, but to be really content they need a way to release some of their tension from work, family, etc. My husband works so hard for us, and has wanted a lot of things but had to say no due to practicality and funding. He sold his Corvette when we had kids, went into debt so we could have a house, and works extra to feed his family. So, when he found a boat and started dreaming, I agreed to help him (yes, it is a fixer-upper). No, I didn’t need more work, but my husbands joy is worth it in my mind. So, for Independence Day, we worked, and worked hard, to get our “new” boat ready to go out on.

This is before doing much

Yes, this is what we bought. My hubby's "Corvette on the Water"

Now, why would a farmer want a "predictor"? Because she loves her husband

Yes, it goes fast. No, it's not going to help me put food on the table. It's family time, pure and simple

We needed to rewire the trailer, and a bunch of other small stuff.

The guys keep telling me they need a bikini girl or two, but Hubby said "can YOUR bikini girl do THIS?!"

JJ was learning to wire trailers. Oh, and see that extra engine? I'm supposed to learn how to work on them 🙂

Hubby and his boat, ready for the storm

So, anyway, this is the boat. We got to test it out before buying and they all had a blast (before it ran out of gas on the other side of the lake. Really. The guy got it back slowly without paddling, but recommended we keep a paddle in the boat. Really? You think?! (Actually, he was really helpful, teaching us everything he could think of and even willing to come help Hubby learn the ins and outs of driving the thing over the next few weeks). I’m happy for my Sweetheart!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hubby’s Toy

  1. LindaG says:

    Well, HE needs to learn how to work on the motor. 😉
    AND, what good is a boat if you can’t fish in it? Fish is food. I love fish!
    But really, I think you got your hubby a great present! Congratulations. Hope you all get much enjoyment out of it. 🙂
    My hubby knows how to scull. That is what you do with the paddle when you run out of gas. 😉
    Have a great week, all! 🙂

    • Lol! I think he is planning to learn how to work on it, but he’s a detail guy. He could build the shell from scratch and paint it to perfection, but I’m the mechanical person (wiring, plumbing, building, etc. behind the scene stuff). I guess he can drop me off on an island to fish while he and the boys go play 🙂

  2. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    You are a good woman, Jordana! My husband traded work for a boat several years back. It’s a great memory builder … a man and his sons. Altho there is a saying that a boat is a hole in the water into which a man pours money, I think you will find it’s worth it 🙂

    • I think it will be good. The boys are really excited, and they loved the short ride they already got to go on. Frankly, anything we do as a whole family is good, money pit or not, lol~

  3. laura little says:

    It’s a matter of balance. All work and no play makes Hubby a tense man. Family time is worth almost any sacrifice. 🙂

    • I agree. And, now that we have most of the hard work out of the way, I’m thinking I might have a little fun with it too. Just as long as I don’t have to back the trailer or drive the boat, I’m happy, lol! (I’m such a chicken sometimes! Good thing I have such a brave man to be married too!)

  4. Heath says:

    Let the record show that I am the only one who has worked on the engine and probably the only one here who ever will. Anything I can’t do will probably need professional help. As far as not being able to fish in it, I could fish from an inner tube if I wanted to. I have yet to figure out how anyone got me a present, since I bought the boat myself.

Leave a Reply

