Saving Money; Towels

My thoughts on living well are to live poor. That does not mean moaning and groaning about not spending money on really nice things, it means cheerfully being a good steward of what you have. There are always things you don’t scrimp on, like Kitchenaid Mixers and quality goats, but when it comes to other things, you don’t have to have perfect.

Take towels, for instance. I really needed some new towels, especially wash cloths. Now, I thought about going to the store and buying some, at something like $5 for 4 or 5 of the good quality ones. Then I looked through my laundry basket and found two large bath towels with holes in them and decided to cut them up and sew the edges to get what I needed. See, these towels were getting really difficult to use since your hand would inevitably find the holes and get stuck, or a child’s head would go through the worn spot and said child would now have a cape that his brother could step on and choke him. It made perfect sense to me to get larger towels later as I needed them and take the good spots out of the worn towels to make wash cloths and hand towels.

Out of 2 towels, I got 12 wash cloths, 1 smaller bath towel, and 3 rag/hand towels

Now, here is something else to consider. Why not start out cutting your large bath towels in half and edging them to make slightly smaller bath towels?! “Why on earth would I do this?”, you may ask. After all, a large towel wrapped around your body is luxurious! Well, that luxury comes with a high price in water for washing, energy for drying, and cupboard space, plus the cost of material. You really don’t need that huge towel to dry off unless your really hairy, so it is pointless to use such large ones on a regular basis. It is nice to keep a really good set of towels for company, but for every-day home use, you can save a lot of money by using smaller towels.

When cutting your towels down, you can decorate them with ribbon or lace to make them extra pretty, or keep it simple and just stitch the edges. Most sewing machines today will have a stitch suitable for edging terry cloth. I like the stitch where a zig-zag is in the middle of straight stitching. If you don’t have this option, do a zig-zag stitch close to the edge, then a straight stitch on the inside of the zig-zag to prevent fraying and keep the edge soft. I don’t like hemming my towels as the edges feel too thick and rough. After finishing the edges, you can stitch on any decorations you like.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading, Saving Money on the Homestead and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saving Money; Towels

  1. LindaG says:

    Good tips! Thanks. Sometimes a person needs help to think outside the box. 🙂

  2. laura little says:

    I do the same thing, as well as sacrificing wash cloths to patch the larger towels when they get holes. Aren’t we thrifty little things!

  3. Jule Sadger says:

    I use my serger to edge the towels when I cut them up. You might want to try that next time as it is much faster. Mom

Leave a Reply

