Ginger Ale & Friends

Okay, so this sounds like an intriguing story. It’s not…really! It’s not like somebody laughed out a nose-full of ginger ale, or got drunk of a really good batch or anything like that. I did see friends today, though. And I had some ginger ale. Homemade, too. The ginger ale, not the friends 🙂

Alright, here’s the real story.  Today was a social day. A very long day away from the farm in which my boys got video games and I got to visit, fun had by all but my poor husband who had to work. First, we went to see Amelia at Uddermost Urban Farm in Raleigh. I love Amelia, she is a wealth of knowledge, and she let me play in her garden a squish squashbugs. LOT’S of squash bugs! Nothing like the heat of summer and a nice yummy plant to attract a ton of the buggers.

Anyway, Amelia also gave me some of her wonderous, lovely honey, which I have been drooling over on-line for a month or more now. We also went out to her herb garden and she gave me some seeds; comfry, clary, basils I didn’t have, coriander, parsley, mint, lemon balm, yarrow, and probably a couple more I don’t remember off the top of my head. Some were actually root cuttings and whole plants, not just seeds. I am so very excited as I want to turn our front yard grass into an herb bed, with beds for kitchen, medical, and decorative herbs. Then she allowed me to have some banana peppers (of which my husband was delighted to see!), pimento peppers, purple basil leaves, and jalepinos. God has blessed her hard work with plenty for her family!

After Amelia’s, we went north to visit Amy and Timothy Sexton. They have a non-profit ministry in Wake Forest, NC. to the lower-income district we typically term “the hood”. In fact, you can visit their blog, “Little Farm in the Hood” and see what they are doing! They bought Hallie from us a while back, and we have been in touch about homesteading quite often. It was a treat to tour their farm and see how much they have done in a small space. Every inch of their home has growing things! The goats and chickens occupy about 1/3 of their yard, and all around the house there are raised garden beds, fruit trees, and decorative trellises covered with vegetables. In the middle of plain government housing, their home stands out like a peaceful cottage and plenty. They use their farm to help support their family as they rely on donations to help in their ministry and want to be good stewards of what God has given them. Many of the children and adults in their community are learning how to grow food and raise livestock, and also seeing God’s love through this family.

Before leaving Amy and Timothy, Tim gave me some seed from his heirloom tomato plants, a very, very small cherry tomato! He told me that it is believed the first tomatoes were actually more like berries, and these certainly remind me of picking any other berry! They are exceptionally sweet, though, and worth the extra effort. After all, every good thing takes a little work to come by!

After arriving home with the blessing from today, I strained my homemade ginger ale. This is my first time making it, and I really didn’t know what to expect. The lid was tight, and as I began to open it, the ginger rushed up to greet me on tons of bubbles of carbon dioxide created during the fermentation process. I quickly closed it again until some of the reaction died down, then carefully opened it and strained out the ginger. The resulting beverage is a deep orangy gold color, not unlike molasses mixed with water. The ginger taste is very strong, and the drink has a bite to it, but I think mixed with some sparkling water it will be a refreshing drink on any hot summer day! It helps digestion if taken in small amounts after a meal, and revitalizes your body after working outside on a hot day. It will also last for months in the refrigerator, which is good since a little goes a long way :_)

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ginger Ale & Friends

  1. laura little says:

    When my daughter was younger and very sick, we had some friends suggest, not ginger ale, but ginger beer for her stomach. It was a very strong drink, worked exceedingly well on nausea, and remains a pleasant taste memory. If your ginger ale is anything like that, what a wonderful beverage!

Leave a Reply

