Crab Grass & Theology

Today I pulled weeds in the garden and on the paths while my boys swam. I don’t mind weeds, but we have been working to reclaim the land from crab grass, the most evil, diabolical think ever created. Something interesting about weeding, though, is how my thoughts stray to God when I’m doing this task.

As I was weeding, and my hands got little cuts and my nails filled with dirt (gloves make it hard to dig out the grass) I had this thought that if Adam and Eve had any idea how troublesome crab grass would be one day, they never would have eaten the bad fruit! Then, of course, I had to think about that further. I thought about how my kids will get so mad at me when they disobey me and I punish them. They will tell me they didn’t know the punishment would be “this bad” and plead for forgiveness and another chance. The thing is, when you make a bad choice, consequences follow. Yes, sometimes they are really bad, but you made the choice.

Now I thought about how all that relates to me and my Father. He gives me so many warnings, so much forgiveness, but I still have to face the consequences of every decision I make, good or bad. There isn’t a second chance with a retracted consequence. Disobedience is still disobedience.  So often people think forgiveness means they shouldn’t have to face the consequences for the choices they have made, but that’s a mistake. If I let my children get off without a price, every single time they make the same choice again, often to a worse degree. How am I, or anyone else, any different? A loving God allows us to learn from our choices, while forgiving us and guiding us to something better if we will only listen and obey.

So anyway, that’s my thoughts for the evening. Now my sore fingers are going to praise God that they will be rewarded for their hard work by good food and plenty. And tomorrow I will weed again and ponder more.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crab Grass & Theology

  1. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Everything you say is right on. I do much of my pondering when I weed and harvest in the garden … much of it about God, His love and provision, His extravagance and about my miserable condition except for the blood of Christ. My dirty, sore, cut fingers are lifted in praise to Him, too. 🙂

  2. laura little says:

    What a lovely post! I like what I call “mindless tasks” that you can do almost on automatic pilot. that frees your mind to contemplation and appreciation. Thank you for sharing your meaningful reflections with us!

Leave a Reply

