Dinner of Veggies

I really love having a garden! The food is amazing fresh, and it is so good for my family. The other day I made veggies for dinner. My kids were not too thrilled. See?

They must have thought they looked threatening, lol!

Anyway, we have all these yummy veggies out of the garden, and I had to use them!

Peppers, tomato, zucchini, and of course some peach jam!

The tomato just had to pose for shot 😉

Okay, so I thought I would share my dinner menu with you so you could make it if you wanted to. It was very simple, and a delight to my pallet!

First, I made a bean and veggie medley. I used frozen corn as I didn’t plant that this year, and some of the veggies came from my friend Amelia.

Bean and veggie medley

Bean and Veggie Medley

  • 2 cups black beans soaked with whey and cooked (makes about 3-4 cups)
  • 3 cups frozen corn, thawed by running under tap water
  • 1 pimento pepper diced
  • 2 small tomatoes diced
  • 2 large banana peppers diced
  • 1 seeded jalapiño pepper seeded and diced VERY small!
  • Italian salad dressing, homemade or store bought, to taste

Mix everything together in a 6 quart casserole dish. Allow to marinade for at least an hour. Stir before serving.

Mmmmm...can you imagine this on your plate?!

Now, I needed some green, so here comes the zucchini. I got the recipe out of “Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon, but it’s no big leap in idea, just not something I had tried before.

Sauted Zucchini in Butter

Sautéd Zucchini in Butter

  • 3 medium zucchini, cut in julianne strips with seeds removed
  • 2 tsp. sea salt
  • 4 Tbsp. butter

Julianne the zucchini and sprinkle with salt. Let set and hour, then rinse with cool water and pat dry.  Heat butter slowly in large skillet, then raise the temp and sauté the zucchini for about 1 minute. Serve warm and buttery!

This is my first bowl of yummy food!

You don’t know what you have been missing if you have never eaten salted, buttery zucchini! Oh, wow! Such a delight to the palate, and ohhh, so healthful! The bean and corn medley was an amazing compliment, savory and rich in different taste and texture. I hope this encourages you to step out and prepare vegetables in a variety of ways. Keep in mind that fats (like butter and olive oil) help us absorb and utilize the fat-soluble vitamins in most vegetables. Don’t make those veggies only useful for fiber by avoiding the good fats! Your body, and palate, will thank you!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

