The Trouble Kids Find

This morning, as I was milking my most difficult goat, my eldest child started screaming at the top of his lungs. Now, this child screams about just about anything he perceives as bad, and acts like it’s life or death, though usually it’s just a normal bruise or scrape if anything at all. Thus, I took my time and finished milking the goat, then went to calmly check on him.

I found my son in a tangle with his bike on the cement walkway, still screaming his head off and yelling at me for not running to him. “I’m stuck, and you don’t even care!” he shouts. Now, by this time I have decided he really didn’t have any reason to fuss, and was rather annoyed with him, but I bent to help him untangle his pants leg from the pedal. Only, the pants wouldn’t come free, even with my expert skill! Instead, it just seemed to wrap tighter around his ankle the more I pulled and tugged.

At this point, I decided the best thing would be to lift him and his bike into an upright position and surly he would come free. I heaved and pulled his 80 lbs. up, all the while he was screaming I was going to kill him ’cause it hurt. Of course I knew he was exaggerating the issue, but I did try to be careful! Still, even after getting upright, the pants wouldn’t come free. So, I told him he was going to have to take his pants off and try sliding his leg out. This was met with disgust and embarrassment, “But MOM! Someone might see my under-ware!”. By this time I was laughing my tail off at his predicament, and embarrassment be darned, I had to get him off the bike!

So, we tried sliding out of the jeans. We could get the pants down, but his leg still couldn’t slide out. By now he was sobbing and telling me he would be stuck forever. I decided drastic measures must be taken and went inside for a pair of scissors.

Measures taken

My son now has an extra pair of shorts, and is free of his bike πŸ™‚

My son's new shorts πŸ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Trouble Kids Find

  1. Robin says:

    ….and has a new pair of short!

  2. Chrissy W. says:

    Oh my gosh, it sounds just like our 7 yr old son! I read your story to my husband and he thought I wrote it at first! Minus the goat( which I am trying to warm hubby up to that idea:)
    I would be laughing too, so if you are a bad mom, I am too:)

Leave a Reply

