Starting Herb Beds

We have a start on the new herb beds in the front yard! I have to build on top of the soil as they happen to be right over the public utilities, so I’m doing things a bit different, but as long as I don’t damage something I shouldn’t have any trouble. No stakes going into the ground or anything, so I have to build boxes.

This is my before picture. My husband told me a long time ago I wasn't going to mess this area up, but he agreed that we didn't need to keep wasting the space.

First I had to make up my mind how I was going to do this. I really like meandering paths and odd shaped beds, but it’s a rectangle yard and made sense to do a rectangle bed, at least on the outer edges to frame in the yard. Plus, some friends (John and Beverly) were kind enough to give me some old wood perfect for this task.

I laid out the basic design with rope and stakes, then used a lawn-mower to shape some walkways. Not done with planning the inner beds, but this part is simple.

I had to get this done as my goat barn compost needed somewhere to go. After laying out a weed-cloth, framing the beds, and leveling as needed, I laid thick layers of newspaper and cardboard in the bottom of the beds to help kill off the grass, then topped with barn cleaning mulch.

JJ and the long bed

It took all day, and doesn't look like much now, but next spring with plants falling over the sides and herbs and flowers, this is going to be lovely!

Another view. Those wooden children swinging came from my Grandma Rose. She thought I needed a bit of whimsy. Children love seeing them!

Okay, and now to see my destruction side by side;

The other side will have the bees, or at least I hope it will. I told the neighbor my plans and he sort of looked like he might fall down. It’s next to his driveway, and he said his fiancé is allergic to honey bees, so I need to talk to her today and see what she says. I may try to woo them with free honey :-/ I didn’t realize just how much garden space there was out here until today, and to think it has been wasted for the last 6 years! And all that gas cutting grass, too! Sure am glad to have the renovation started 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Starting Herb Beds

  1. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Great start! You accomplished alot in one day. It’s going to be wonderful and you’ll be so glad you did it. Remind your neighbor that bees spend the day away from the hive and travel as much as 5 miles from the hive. They leave as soon as the sun is up. If you put them in a corner of the yard facing into the yard (always face them south/southeast), then they will be high in the sky when they pass your neighbor’s driveway. They also only sting defensively … if she stays away from the hive and doesn’t swat them, she won’t get stung.

  2. Robin says:

    15 foot defensive zone….put up a section of privacy fence, they go up, not out. Good luck!

    • It’s out near the road, but about 10 feet from their fence line, plus all the front grass. Hmmm…it would stop trespassers from using our yard as a walk-through, lol! I really hope she is okay with the idea. I haven’t gotten to talk to her yet.

Leave a Reply

