Gearing Up for School

Well, it’s that time of year again. Everyone who has children begins to think about the coming school year. This is especially true for home-schoolers. It has occurred to me that my schoolroom became the catch-all through the summer months, and I only have 2 or 3 weeks before we start back to lessons. I don’t even have my curriculum lined up yet! Part of that is the money needed for what I wanted to do since we need a roof and a moisture issue dealt with, but part of it is that I’m scared to order the curriculum at such a high cost and find out we didn’t like it.

I also wonder how in the world I am going to keep up with home, yard, garden, canning, and educating all at once. There is a lot of pressure out there to fit in 8 hours of hard, devoted study/schooling every day. I just don’t fit that mold, and it doesn’t set well in my mind, even if I know it’s okay in the long run. My kids know how to practically apply what they learn, which is one of the most important things I can teach them. So, I’m sitting here running over my educational goals, comparing them to last year, and revising them for this year.

Here is what I considered important last year:

  • I wanted to complete math books
  • I wanted daily grammar and reading lessons
  • we had to sit from 8-12 doing school

Okay, so I didn’t complete any of that. Never-the-less, the kids are about right on grade level, at least in most areas, and exceeding expectations in others, with only a couple of lagging spots, so this years goals are a bit more defined and yet loose.

  • We need to restart JJ in his math book (he just wasn’t getting it last year, so we reverted to simpler concepts)
  • Jameson needs to improve his reading and re-telling skills
  • Reinforce Jameson’s math and complete last years course (he was ahead in this area, until we hit fractions, lol!)
  • JJ needs to be reading by sounding out words and able to read on at least a level 3 by year-end
  • Incorporate daily writing and grammar
  • Expose the boys to as much fun science and history and art as possible though trips, reading, and hands-on experience

Sounds huge, but it’s doable, and more flexible than last year. We will still have structured lesson time, but I’m thinking of organizing it different. I may wait until it gets cold and then order the other lessons I wanted and use them in the winter months when it’s to wet and cold to be outside. I am still very undecided on that. The balance is the hard part. With all the work and teaching, there is very little time for me to be a fun person, both to my husband, and my kids. I have a bit of work to figure it all out as our studies require more time and attention the older the boys get, but I will. I still think the most important thing I can teach them is to problem solve, have good moral character, and apply what they learn in their lives. If we succeed in that, then I feel we have done the best.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gearing Up for School

  1. LindaG says:

    Sounds good. Good luck with it!

  2. Laura Little says:

    My goal for my kids was that they learn how to learn. That way, whatever they “missed” or just were not ready for when we covered it, they can always go back to. Honestly, how much do we really remember about John Smith, or The Civil War? We remember the headlines of things and we have the ability to go back and find out more if it is needed. I despaired of my daughter ever learning to spell, but she’s gone on to become a productive adult with a good job and a great personality. She struggled with math all her school years and we finally settled with Survival Math, which is what we need to function in our daily life. It seems like we’re never meeting our goals, but don’t despair. Your kids look happy and healthy, and that’s number one in my book.

Leave a Reply

