Sobering Economy

It’s happening again, and fast. The stock market is plunging, jobs are being lost all over the world, the price of products are increasing. I hate that I see all our investments in the future are going to be run into the ground yet again. I don’t think we are going to jump back from this one very quickly. If you thought the last crisis was bad, somehow I think this one will be twice as bad or worse. It’s rather sobering, but we have been trying to prepare for it as best we can. One of the reasons I completed my goat herd this year was in preparation for this. Even with the way we live, we are going to find some drastic changes in the next year regarding our life-style, or so I imagine. Rather depressing all-in-all. I see hope, but I really am afraid we will have to collapse before we will recover our financial strength as a nation, and I’m afraid it will be a sad situation for many. As much as I want to help those in need, it’s getting to the point that you have to take care of your own first. At the store I kept getting asked to “build a backpack” for a child. I know these kids may need things, but frankly, I’m going to put our money in the bank or into our family. We decrease a burden on others by simply homeschooling our children, where we pay taxes to support schools we don’t use, and where we have to purchase everything for our children without help, not just the back-pack supplies, but the curriculum! Right now everywhere I turn someone has their hand out. I feel pity for them, but cannot help them by putting our family in the same boat. I do NOT want to end up in the same situation!

I keep going back to the Great Depression, looking at how the survivors did it, the choices they made. Some of the things they did we have not been able to accomplish, even though we have tried our best. The economy has simply tumbled too fast. I only hope that knowing can help us make the best decisions possible. And I also hope that those who felt like they didn’t need to worry, the the great United States couldn’t crumble, will be able to survive. For now, I’m going to go out and tend to my livestock and garden, our gold when the dollar is worth less and less. They may be the one thing that helps us survive…

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sobering Economy

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m so glad to hear someone else verbalize what has been discussed in our home. One reason all my energy goes into the garden is b/c I see it as a source of food when there may be no other. One reason for the chickens and goats is that it is one more step towards being self-sufficient or as self-sufficient as one can be. We also home school and over the past few years have tried to live as simply as possible and I’m hoping we are prepared for what is to come because I don’t think it’s going to be pretty.

  2. Laura Little says:

    Very thoughtful post. I will say that we experienced very tight finances as a family in 2008/2009. And regardless of whether it was because of the economy as a whole, or just our personal circumstances, I made the decision that I never wanted to be in that position again. That meant Garden, Meat Animals, Attitude Adjustments. I would never go back to being so dependent on ‘the system’ again, no matter what happens with the economy. It is good to see others who strive for that self-reliance as well. Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

  3. LindaG says:

    Love your post. We have been thinking the same thing since the last ‘depression’. That’s why it’s annoying to be stuck in the middle. Ready to move, but not able to yet.
    But we are very thankful for what we have.
    Hope you all have a wonderful weekend. God bless. ♥

  4. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    Jordana, How I hated reading this post … because it is reflecting back my own thoughts that I don’t want to face. We have been growing more self-sustaining for this very reason, but I wish I had a little more time to be better prepared. I will rest in the preparations we have made, in those we are making, but mostly in our God who is big enough to sustain us when we no longer can.

Leave a Reply

