Not so perfect…

After being away on vacation for a week, then trying to do harvesting and catching up when we got home for another week, plus rain, the weeds have over-taken my garden. You know, that lovely place that looked so good at the start of the summer? Well, this is what it looks like now…

Sometimes people ask how I do it all. Well, here’s the answer… There is always something undone, I just trade them around! 🙂

Anyway, yesterday afternoon (after fixing the bathroom plumbing thank to my husbands hair causing clogs both in the trap and the wall part of the pipe) I spent 3-4 hours working on the garden mess. It’s only about half done and I was soaking wet, even my apron! Still, at least I can get to the beds now!

Taken from the same spot the first picture was

Side path between beds, one half was done before vacation and still wasn't too bad

Look at that pile of weeds! And this was after I took 2 huge wheelbarrow fulls to the chickens already!

So, the high note of the work was finding a millipede in the weeds enjoying the coolness under them. He was really pretty!

Today my fingers hurt and my legs feel like I did 300 squats without stopping, but I can at least pick tomatoes! So, now you know the secret… I’m not so perfect after all 😉

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not so perfect…

  1. Amie Sexton says:

    I don’t know about that “not perfect” thing. I think you staged the whold weed situation just to make the rest of us slackers feel better. But wait…the fact that you weeded THAT MUCH grass and got it looking THAT GOOD in one day only makes me feel worse. ugh. Even your imperfections are hard to measure up to. 😉

  2. LindaG says:

    Good that you had raised beds to help make weeding easier. 🙂

  3. Uddermost Farm Girl says:

    I remember on your recent visit to my weed patch .. um, garden … that you said weeds were just part of gardening. I have basked in that grace for days now. You have a bumper crop of chicken snacks, is what I say! 🙂

Leave a Reply

