Turtles and Picnics

Today was so pretty after all the storms and heat of this summer, so when we saw a turtle valiantly trying to cross the road on our way home we stopped to pick him up.

JJ holding the turtle

Jameson holding the turtle

Jameson asking if you can eat turtles; note the turtle staying in his shell, lol!

So, since it was such a pretty day with a pleasant breeze, we brought a quilt out and had a picnic while waiting for the turtle to come out of his shell.

Me and my boys

After a TON of waiting...

the turtle came out...

He took a look around...

and high-tailed it right back to the road πŸ™‚

We took him down to the stream and released him, and had a wonderfully fun day full of science and hands on learning, and made memories that will last forever!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Turtles and Picnics

  1. Sarah Grove says:

    You are a fabulous Mom (and teacher!) and I love the pics!! This reminds me of the days I spent with our youngsters when they were that age. We were always exploring something outdoors! We had so many wonderful times!! Thanks for sharing Nigerian Meadows!! :o)

  2. LindaG says:

    We always seem to find a turtle in the yard when we mow at the retirement property. I always wonder why they don’t just stay in the bayou. The only open water we have on the farm is the cow bowl, and there is no way for them to get to it.

    Glad you were able to use it to a good end. πŸ™‚

  3. Robin says:

    That one looks much nicer than the snapping turtle we had in the laundry room this week! Not so much hands on with mine! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment