Another Herbal Wormer Recipe

I made another wormer recipe for the goats today, mostly based on what I have and the needs I see. My girls are almost all pregnant, so I added red raspberry leaves to the mix. It won’t hurt the boys either. We have had a lot of wet, hot weather this summer, and my girls were getting a parasite load, so I set this mix out for them yesterday, and it was gone this morning. I put more out today, and will continue to do so every day this week, then do a fecal so I know if I need to continue (repeat the fecal every week for a month at least to really know how your doing). Anyway, it occurred to me that I should explain the herbs I used and why so you have a better understanding of the wormer and why it’s effective.

Wormer Recipe

  • 5 cups chopped, dried wormwood
  • 5 cups chopped, dried thyme
  • 2 cups black walnut hull powder
  • 2 cups chopped and dried red raspberry leaf

wormwood

Wormwood ~  this herb has long been used to cleanse humans and livestock of parasites. It boosts the immune system, and helps cleans the intestines and liver. There are cautions about using during pregnancy, but I have had great success using it with my pregnant goats, and master herbalist say that the cautions are un-founded. It should not be given constantly, but only as needed for a 7-9 days to treat for parasites. Given constantly, it has been found to cause neurological and digestive disorders.

 

Thyme

Thyme ~ You would be amazed at the extensive uses for thyme besides cooking. It is a powerful anti-parasitic used internally, and can be used to treat skin conditions. It is a powerful anti-bacterial, can be used to give relief from cramps, heal the digestive tract, prevent tooth decay, and much more. Due to it’s effectiveness in killing internal parasites, it is included in equal portions to wormwood in all my mixtures, and it is relatively cheap to come by.

Black Walnut

Black Walnut Hull ~ This plant is useful for much more than the nut. The leaves, hull, bark and the nut all have health benefits. The hull s a natural laxative, and aids in cleaning the intestines. The tannins are a long recognized anti-parasitic, internally and externally. The hull and nut oils can be used to treat inflammations of the skin, and it has anti-cancer and anti-tumor properties. It has been used to treat varicose tumors, athletes foot, ring-worm, digestive ulcers, etc. This is an extremely powerful addition to my mix, and 2 cups goes a long way!

Red Raspberry

Red Raspberry Leaf ~ Helps tighten the uterine muscles and make delivery easier. Regulates menstruation and eases cramps associated with menses. It soothes the digestive system and eases nausea. Seeing as almost all my does are pregnant or I’m getting ready to breed them, I decided to add this herb, which they love anyway.

Anyway, that is my wormer. I use other herbs as well sometimes, but this is a pretty basic wormer.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Herbal Wormer Recipe

  1. Lori says:

    So…you offer this whole recipe free choice? And to how many goats? Could it be administered to individual goats with feeding and if so, how much of it would you recommend per feeding?

  2. I offer it as much as they want for a week or all the time depending on our needs. Sometimes I mix it with Diamond V Yeast. Sometimes I dose them individually in balls of the herb mixed with peanut butter or molasses, around 2 Tbsp. a day. Mostly I do what I see works based on fecals, and that changes with a variety of factors such as weather, load, land and rotational grazing, etc. I only put out what they will eat in one day, so the mix actually lasts a while unless you have a very large herd.

Leave a Reply

