Lentils for Supper

I have been making lentils a lot as they are very nutritouse as well as cheap. Now, it took a while for me to learn how to make good lentils, but since reading how in the cookbook “Nourishing Traditions” by Sally Fallon, I have begun to play with them, always with outstanding results. Even the children love them! I made some tonight for supper, and it was so good I thought I would share the recipe. This is wheat, gluten, egg, nut, and corn free, and you don’t have to use the dairy 🙂  Oh, and the meat is so tender cooking it this way, and so good! Mmmmm…. I’m getting hungry writing this! Belongs in a 5-star restaurant, even if I do say so myself.

Lentils 'n Venison

Lentils ‘n Venison

  • 1 lb. lentils
  • water to cover
  • 2 Tbsp. whey or lemon juice
  • 6 cloves garlic, peeled and mashed
  • 1 bunch fresh thyme
  • 5 leaves fresh sage on stem
  • 3-6 cups chicken or beef broth
  • 1 lb. venison stew meat
  • 1/2 cup cooking sherry
  • Toppings: sour cream, cheddar cheese, salsa

Wash and sort lentils. Place in large pot and cover with warm water and add lemon juice or whey. Cover and let sit 8-24 hours. Drain, rinse, and return to pot.

Add chicken or beef broth to cover. Tie fresh herbs in a bundle and add to the lentils. Press fresh garlic into the lentils. Heat to a gentle boil, then cover and simmer on low heat while doing the next step.

Brown venison over medium-low heat with the sherry. Add the meat and juice to the lentils (the meat will be somewhat rare still) and simmer for 30-60 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve warm with cheese, sour cream, and salsa or fresh cut tomatoes.

Serves: 6-8
Recipe by Jordana Heath

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

