Healing Salve Recipe

I had to order some comfrey and other herbs since I will have to wait another year to have all the ones I want in my garden, but today I am making a simple healing salve for use on people and my animals. I thought I would share it with you. I don’t have the mint on hand, but love adding it to salves. This is a very rich salve, a little goes a long way!

*Please remember that I am NOT a doctor or health practitioner, and you need to check with one or research side effects of these herbs for yourself before making and/or using this recipe! It is your responsibility to make sure you can use these herbs, and I am only sharing what I do for my own personal use.

Jordana’s Healing Salve

  • 3-4 cups vegetable shortening
  • 1 cup dried comfrey leaves
  • 1/2 cup dried yarrow
  • 2-4 Tbsp. beeswax if you can get it
  • 1/2 cup dried peppermint
  • 1/4 tsp. grapefruit seed extract for preservation (optional)

In a double boiler, or bowl placed over a pot of hot water, add shortening, bees wax, and herbs. Do not add extract yet! Heat to a simmer and let simmer for 8-48 hours on low heat. Strain and add extract, then pour into clean jars and allow to cool, then cap, label, and store in the fridge until needed. You can store it on a cool, dark shelf for 2 months with the extract, but it can be refrigerated for 1-2 years.

Use: this salve can be rubbed on sprains, bruises, small cuts, and to help ease inflammation in joints or soft tissue. It is meant to be used externally. The yarrow acts to reduce inflammation and stop bleeding, the comfrey helps regenerate cells and knit the wound, and the mint eases pain and inflammation. Do not use on deep cuts as the comfrey will cause the skin to heal too quickly and may trap bacteria deep in the wound, causing infection and serious illness.Β  Again, always consult a health-care provider or expert before using herbal medicines.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading, Natural Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healing Salve Recipe

  1. LindaG says:

    Thanks for sharing this with us. πŸ™‚ Have you done a post on grapefruit seed extract? I think I may have missed it if you did.

  2. LindaG says:

    Thank you. I’d appreciate it because I have no clue how to come by it, though I imagine it can be ordered online? Look forward to your post. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

