9/11, Ten Years Later

Today is a sad day, yet one of joy as well. Ten years ago, the Twin Towers fell. It was a day full of loss that touched our nation in every region, most people losing someone in some part of their family.  We realized, as a nation, how closely bound we all are to each other. Yet…life went on. Today we look back in sadness, thankful we are still here. Some look forward in fear of what may happen. I am simply thankful I am here, right where I am, in this moment in time. I have no guarantee of a future, no promise of tomorrow. I don’t know if I will never see my children again in another moment, or if my husband will come home tonight. That just serves to make me thankful for now. I don’t want to look backward forever to re-live the pain of a moment in time, nor do I want to look forward in fear. I simply want to be at peace in the now so I can treasure it.

May the families and friends of the fallen be at peace in the now, today, and not entrenched in the pain of the past, or the fear of tomorrow. May the living uphold the standard of this nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice, for all. And may we not let anyone, foreign or domestic, undermine the strength of this nation!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 9/11, Ten Years Later

Leave a Reply

