Our Neem Trees are Here!

Over a year ago I got interested in the neem tree and all the uses of the oil, leaves, and bark. It is an amazing tree that grows in wasteland and deforested areas in India and Asia, and now in many other parts of the world in the same hemisphere. It will thrive in poor soils, and only occasional rainfall, and provides nourishment, compost, and medicine for humans and animals. It is a lovely, shade giving evergreen in it’s natural climate, and can grow quite tall.

After researching the medicinal and insecticidal properties of the neem tree, I decided I wanted to grow this amazing plant. I should have done further research since the seed is only viable for 30-60 days, and in the fall at that. I had thought to order in the spring, and early this year was surprised to find I would have to wait for fall. Well, I finally have my neem seedlings! I got 10 of them in a bunch, along with a gallon of cold-pressed neem oil to make insecticide and soap. I am so excited! I have them all planted in pots since they will have to be kept in our house during the winter. In summer I will move them outside in their pots so we can bring them back inside during the winter since we get well below the range they can withstand. I will train them to be more of a bush than a tree, and will certainly need to build some pots on wheels as they get larger, but for now we are good to go.

These are the seedlings I recieved

The first day after planting the small trees grew at least 2 inches! They can grow up to a foot a week, so I expect they will be pretty large soon. I ordered mine form Neem Tree Farms, a company here in the United States of America. They were awesome to work with, and everything was packaged securely and shipped quickly. I would recommend them if you want to order the neem oil or plants.

Look at all the pots of neem tree seedlings!

These little pots won't work for long the way these trees grow, but they sure are cute!

If you are interested in the uses of neem, here are a few links I enjoyed. Of particular interest for how to use neem, you should read this.

http://www.discoverneem.com/neem-soap.html

http://www.livestrong.com/article/98616-benefits-neem-trees/

http://neemtreefarms.com/

http://www.neemfoundation.org/

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Natural Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Neem Trees are Here!

  1. LindaG says:

    They are skinny little things, aren’t they?
    Thanks for all this information and the links. I will definitely bookmark this page.

  2. Laura Little says:

    I found out about Neem a few years back. I’ve been content with just having capsules, but you reminded me that it’s an option to have the real plant and work with fresh product. Doh!

    • I like the idea of having the plants. I tend to kill things in the house, but they were so cheap I couldn’t resist trying it. I don’t think shipping the oil will remain affordable for too long as it becomes more popular

Leave a Reply

