My Favorite Gluten-free Cake Recipe!

Everyone keeps asking me for my favorite gluten-free cake recipe, so I am going to post it. I actually have some other good ones as well, but these are straight from a cookbook and I really think you should buy the books rather than me giving all the good recipes away 🙂  In the interest of helping the authors sell you the books, here is my favorite for birthday and wedding cakes. Another author has a great chocolate cake you would LOVE!

Orange Chiffon Cake, pg. 95 in “The Gluten-Free Gourmet” by Bette Hageman

  • 1 1/3 cups rice flour (I use brown rice flour)
  • 2/3 cup potato starch flour
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ½ cup vegetable oil (I use coconut oil)
  • 7 eggs, seperated
  • ¾ cup orange juice
  • 2 tsp. grated orange rind
  • ½ tsp. cream of tarter

Preheat oven to 325° for a large tube pan or 350° for a 9″x13″ oblong cake pan. *I use 3 – 8″ round pans with great success, and the 9″x13″ is a tall cake with all this batter

Sift together into a mixixing bowl the flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add in order: oil, unbeaten egg yolks, orange juice, and rind. Beat together with a spoon until smooth.

In a large bowl, beat the egg whites and cream of tarter until they form very stiff peaks. Pour egg yolk mixture gradually over the whipped egg whites, gently folding with a rubber spatula until just blended.

Pour batter into prepared cake pans. Bake tube pan at 325° for 55 minutes, then raise the temperature to 350° for 10-15 minutes. Bake oblong pan at 350° for 45-50 minutes. *I bake the round pans at 350° for 25-45 minutes, testing for doneness by touching the top. It should gently spring back to your touch. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then turn out on a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

*My notes; this cake is very light. It will dry out quickly if you don’t frost as soon as it’s cool enough, and when cut, you HAVE to keep it covered. I have used lemon in place of the orange with excellent results, and even tried out some versions for vanilla (use milk in place of the orange juice). This cake goes very quickly as soon as anyone tries it, even non-celiacs, but I found it to be very affordable for a GF cake. It is good with an apricot glaze and powdered sugar as well! And makes a fabulous bunt cake.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Cakes & Cookies, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment