Debate or Fight?

So, I really don’t feel like blogging tonight. Why? Because I got into a “debate” by accident with someone on Facebook that I knew I wouldn’t see eye to eye with. Stupid of me, I know. Thing was, it started with a quote by Mother Theresa, a woman I have a lot of respect for, but ended being more an attack on Christianity and trying to defend my personal beliefs to someone so set in their ways they were not listening anyway. Nothing like wasting your breath (or finger energy as the case was this time). I really do know better, but I get so tired of keeping my mouth shut when I hear ridiculous attacks on what I believe and it is never acceptable to defend myself. Now, if I said “oh, your so right!” the person would be totally content, but if I say I disagree, or even state why, they feel it their duty to “educate” me and ridicule me at the same time for being stupid enough to have the beliefs I do. So, that leaves me in the same muddle as before, seeing that my breath was wasted and I have been attacked worse than before. Figures. So why bother? I just don’t know. Maybe I actually care, but since I’m a Christian I must be giving conditional love if I say anything in disagreement. It’s frustrating to say the least. Oh well, guess I can’t do anything about it, but it makes me sad. I grew up knowing that you can’t change someones mind once set, no matter how much they lat you talk. I know I won’t change mine unless I see a new point I had not considered, but I do try to look closer and at least understand the other perspective. Have you ever had that experience?

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Debate or Fight?

  1. Laura Little says:

    Isn’t it frustrating trying to defend your faith to someone who only has ridicule for the concept? I think the best way to avoid it is to follow the advice of the apostle Peter: “But sanctify the Christ as Lord in your hearts, always ready to make a defense before everyone that demands of you a reason for the hope in you, but doing so together with a mild temper and deep respect.” As long as you can maintain a mild temper and mutual respect, then you can have a conversation. The second that either is lost, it is best to take your leave. It is difficult to watch the growing hostility toward faith in general, Christianity specifically. It is possible that the only witness we may be able to give others is our example. I applaud you for your open-mindedness, unfortunately many have ‘stopped their ears and refuse to hear.’

    • I agree Laura. I new pretty quick the respect wasn’t there, and quit as soon as I started to feel angry, but I probably shouldn’t have responded to the insults in the first place. That’s my humanity wanting to defend, when a closed mind just won’t listen. I only hope that I kept my temper out of the whole thing so as not to have set a bad example. Sometimes I really hate the “me” that comes through 😦

  2. Sarah Grove says:

    I have been an similar situations myself and I know how frustrating it can be! I can’t help but stand up for my principles…even though I know I’m surely wasting my time and energy when it comes to some folks. They just don’t get it! I applaud you for being brave and not allowing someone else to intimidate you! We may not always get the last word but who care when you can have the last laugh! Ha ha ha!! Have a safe and blessed day my friend! ❤ :o)

  3. LindaG says:

    Many people have lost the art of honest debate.
    Look at our ‘congress people’. They don’t know how to debate. All they can do is name call and argue.
    I see a lot of name calling and such on Fb too. People don’t know how to be civil sometimes.
    I’m sure you did well. ♥

  4. Heath says:

    People on FaceBook usually act more civil than people do in the YouTube comments area. When people get on YouTube they have this urge to argue in the comments. Part of that is because on FaceBook people are usually talking to people that they actually know in real life so they do not feel as anonymous.

Leave a Reply

