This weekend

This has been some weekend. Not to be depressing or anything, but I’m pooped, emotionally and physically. I still haven’t quite recovered from the weekend before this with my husband working tons extra and making a wedding cake for our neighbor (that was fun, but I really wanted it to be special for her, so stressful too). Now my father-in-law is in the hospital and they are thinking another blockage in his heart. I feel so torn about being there, or stay at home to teach the kids and hold down the fort until I’m needed. It seems everyone has needs everywhere I turn, and I’m running a bit short in the energy and emotion department. I am finding myself in the goat barn a lot. The goats are so peaceful, and affectionate too. I can cuddle Niabi or Abigail and cry a bit, then laugh at the antics of someone in the herd. So…this is a lot of why I haven’t been on much. Life is just a bit overwhelming right now. Have a good night, and tell someone you love how special they are to you. You never know when it will be your last chance.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This weekend

  1. Meghan Grace says:

    Oh, I am so sorry that you are overwhelmed right now! I remember when my son was about two weeks old and I just couldn’t handle the fatigue, I went and held my beautiful bunny, Sweet Pea, sobbed with her gentle quietness in her my arms and truly, all was better with the world. As it is, one day at a time, sweet Jesus! Hugs, Meghan

  2. LindaG says:

    *hugs*
    How old are your kids again? Perhaps the oldest can help teach the youngest? Just for a bit to give you a little time.
    I’m very sorry to hear about your father-in-law.
    God Bless. ♥

  3. MaBugnisFarm says:

    Goats are great shoulders to cry on – my girls and boys have always been good for that. I hope things get better for you.

  4. Laura Little says:

    Take care of yourself and your immediate family first. Resolve to keep strong and healthy for later, when all the people who have expended their energy now will need backup. Let them know that is what you are doing so that you won’t feel guilty and they won’t misunderstand. Offer to watch anyone else’s kids while they are at the hospital. Look at it as a Support Service. You may not be on the front lines, but someone has to bring up the rear!

  5. Thank you all for your encouragement! Dad ended up with another stint put in today, but he is okay. Laura L., you said just the right thing. You are quite right, and everyone told me just that today. I will be able to help by coming in as others have to go. I think the worst part was waiting alone for news and just not knowing. I am praising my God for good family and also that Dad got what he needed to be able to keep going and enjoying his wife, children, and grandchildren (he has a brand new grandchild due in about 2 weeks!).

Leave a Reply

