The Microwave Challenge

You can go to any store and buy them pretty cheap, you can get cookbooks for them, there are innumerable “quick” meals in stores they are used to heat…the microwave. I have one of these, a really nice one in fact. My Grandma bought it for us when our little, very old, one took it’s last breath. I like the microwave. It eliminates thinking for the most part. I don’t have to plan, I can throw something in it after being gone all day and have a complete meal in under 15 minutes. Yet, there are also a number of studies that show the microwave damages food structure and causes health problems, from radiation to toxic food prepared in it.

About a month ago my Mom told me of a study a middle-school kid did for a science project. He took some plants, all the same, same size pots, same dirt, same light, etc. The only thing he did different was experimant with water sources. He boiled water, used city and well water, purified water, spring water, and microwaved water. At the end of his study all but one plant was still doing well. The plant that died was the one given microwaved water. Well, I knew the microwave wasn’t the best, but I really just used it in a pinch and to heat water (ah-hmm) for my coffee and tea. My husband had sworn off of it about a year ago, refusing to use it or eat re-heated food from it, but I had not quite made the break. This study made me think of how much I disliked tea made from nuked water, and I thought, “Hey, if I serve all this good food only to ruin it before putting it in my body, what’s the point?”.

That brings me to this; I decided to quit using the microwave. I even am trying to sell it so I cannot give in to the temptation of ease. A month after this decision, I have “fallen” twice and used it, once to heat left-overs, and once to heat water. I felt like I sinned terribly, but I cannot bring myself to take the thing out to the barn, where something always ends up broken or forgotten about. I would far rather sell it to some unsuspecting person who wants to poison themselves ๐Ÿ™‚ Can you take that step? Have you? I need support here! It’s like AA for microwave owners ๐Ÿ™‚ย  *I happen to have a lot of respect for people that kick addictions of all kinds, it’s not easy, and my jokes are in no way meant to make anyone feel bad, I’m just laughing at how hard it has been not to use a silly piece of equipment.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Microwave Challenge

  1. Danielle B. says:

    We gave our microwave – a very nice high-end one at that – to my mother. I love her, so no, I am not trying to ruin her health, but she thinks I am insane in my food choices. I don’t think she will eat something if it didn’t come out of a box. My Kombucha scobies (sp?) gross her out, my raw goats milk kefir “smells funny”, etc. You get the idea. We bought a nice convection / toaster oven and have not missed the microwave even once. I am better at quitting something if it is just “gone” ๐Ÿ™‚ Between that appliance and a plain old SS pot and water I found a way to cook anything that only lists microwave directions. If I am in a SUPER rush I can still cook an Amy’s organic frozen dinner. Just pop it out of the container and cook it instinctively. It tastes much better anyway, just due to the lack of guilt!

    • I figure if they want to use it, then I have no problem letting them, lol! It’s not like they can’t see the same information I do ๐Ÿ™‚ Going cold turkey is nice, but I need the money for the toaster oven, so I guess I will keep trying to sell it. What brand of toaster oven did you choose? I know very little about them.

  2. Danielle B. says:

    We bought a “Black & Decker Toast-R-Oven” toast/convection oven from Walmart during the Christmas “selling” season. It only cost $39.00 because it is a “little” smaller than the 12″ ones – they seem to be more $$$. Also, it has knobs instead of electronics to control the temp. etc. I prefer knobs anyway – less chance of breaking and it doesn’t use electricity just sitting there! It has lasted two years so far, so I am pleased. I doubt they still carry the same model but I can get the # if you are interested. The original box is in the loft – it did come with a limited warranty.

  3. LindaG says:

    Yep, habits are hard to kick.
    I boil water on the stove, but cook bacon in the microwave. If I got rid of our microwave, my hubby would definitely not be happy, haha. But baby steps. Once we move to the farm, we may not have one at all.

    Good luck selling yours!

    • I really wish my Grandma hadn’t been quite so kind as to get us one when ours broke, lol! It was far easier to let it go with a natural death. I cannot seem to sell it, so who knows what I will do with it, sigh… Maybe it would make a good nest box for my hens ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Laura Little says:

    We tried going with out one, but I think we lacked willpower. I will say that I always reheat pizza in the oven now–350 degrees, 10 minutes–and its so superior to microwave reheated. Ditto on tea never tasting right after microwaving. So, what do I use it for? Heating bowls of veggies. Hmm, nuking a healthy bowl of veggies? I may need to rethink this.

  5. If you store your left overs in a water proof zip lock type bag free of the plastic poison chemical you can quick heat those left overs by putting bag in a pot of boiling water. I do despise the microwave and always assumed it wasn’t good for us and then was told why and now reading this confirms all that. Yes I do use it on occasion but I am not using it no longer. Though I won’t sell mine to no one because I don’t want to have a hand in them hurting themselves.

Leave a Reply

