Monkeys in the Tree House

I went outside to check on my children last night. There were very strange sounds coming from the yard. When I got out there I hid behind a very large camellia tree/bush to watch them. They had put bamboo pieces across their fort on top of the railings that protect them from falling. Yes, on TOP. Jameson was standing on top of them, and on another JJ was hanging upside-down by his hands and feet and making monkey sounds (he is very good at imitating animals sounds). I shook my head and called out for them to be very careful playing on the bamboo. I mean, hey! If they want to find trouble they will, at least I knew what they were up to right then!

Well, about 30 minutes later I was speaking with my husband when Jameson comes to tell us JJ had gone to the highest point of the fort, the ridge-pole as it is. He did say JJ did not get on the tarp that covered the roof, but that did little to ease this mothers heart! I threatened to tear the whole thing down and make toys for the goats if I EVER caught, or heard of, them going up there again, or if they climb on the outside edges. You could see their little minds working ways around this as they mumbled their “yes, ma’ams”, lol! If they make it through childhood it will be a miracle! I will get a picture of their creation to let you see just why my heart nearly stopped at the thought of them on top of the fort once it quits raining 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monkeys in the Tree House

  1. LindaG says:

    Typical boys! 🙂

  2. Laura Little says:

    The more an activity is likely to cause cardiac arrest in a mother, the more boys want to engage in it. Scientific fact. :O)

Leave a Reply

