Farm Stuff

It’s fall here at Nigerian Meadows. Today was busy, as was this last week. We are working to get ready for our first year of fall kids, as well as preparing for winter. I have to get hay soon, before it’s all gone, and build some new kidding areas since it looks like all the does I bred for late October kids took *gulp* and some I bought but didn’t think were pregnant look like they will be kidding in the next 2 weeks *bigger gulp*. I am extremely thankful, but 6 goats kidding within 4 weeks is going to be a bit…busy. We are going to have a LOT of milk!

Besides preparing kidding areas that will accomodate multiple goats, we are preparing to do our first whole-herd disease testing in the next week or two, hopefully before kids hit the ground. I want to be certain we do not have CAE before the kids arrive, and all the diseases communicable to humans through the milk or body fluids and feces must also be checked, especially since we have children going in with the goats and drink the milk raw. This is a very big deal, especially since I need the vet to teach me how to draw the blood. After this I will do it myself.

Today I cleaned the doe barn of all the summer bedding since it wasn’t draining well any more. That was a huge job! I took 6-inches of bedding out of one side! I have a lot of improvements I would like to make to the barn, especially the addition’s floor, which is still dirt and lays quite low, allowing moisture to ruin bedding and not drain right. I would also like to build enough loafing benches that all my does can sleep off the ground, much better for breathing!

To top off all that, I gave all the does Be-se shots, copper rod boluses, and sprayed neem oil on the girls to get rid of biting critters that came with some hay. I still have hoofs to do, but we are nearly set. Fall is about as busy as spring around here! And, for your viewing pleasure, below is a picture of my fall garden πŸ™‚

One bed of cabbage, I have another just like it, lol!

I do love my flowers πŸ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farm Stuff

  1. LindaG says:

    Wow. Good luck with all of that.
    Marigolds? I lobe them, too. Whatever they are, they are very pretty!

Leave a Reply

