I Gave My Son a Bible…

The other day our local Books A Million closed and had a lot of books on sale for 40% off. We have a lot of Bibles for children in our house, but our eldest child is reading well enough I wanted him to have a real Bible of his own. He threw fits when he saw me buy it; he wanted a young childs Bible with pictures instead. A few days later I was talking to him about some verses explaining why things are the way they are today, and also discussing the story of Moses, and I told him since he was so interested he might like reading more for himself. I got him the new Bible and opened the pages to Exodus where we were studying, and gave it to him.

Five minutes later my son looked up at me with his face lit up and he grinned and said “Mom, this is the best book EVER!” and went back to reading. It absorbed him like a video game normally would, and he would run up to me and read verses he found particularly fascinating. It filled me with joy. This child’s heart is so very special!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Gave My Son a Bible…

  1. Laura Little says:

    I think even the youngest of children are able to comprehend and get excited over a well written Bible translation. Even with all the big words. It just takes commitment on the part of the parents to perform the task described at Nehemiah 8:8: ” And they continued reading aloud from the book, from the law of the [true] God, it being expounded, and there being a putting of meaning [into it]; and they continued giving understanding in the reading..” Good to see you doing that for your children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

