Blessed by Community

My little community is growing, and yesterday was full of blessing from all. It was so very good to see in action how we are creating a local network of people who are actively working together in small ways to accomplish big things! We have these little rings that over-lap and create contacts and a larger network than I realized even just a few months ago. Let me share my small circle with you.

Yesterday morning I set out for StarrLight Farm for a few things; visit good friends, pick up our buck they were borrowing, and discuss bees. We ran out of time to do everything and visit as long as we would have liked, but we spent some time with the goats, shared knowledge, and traded goods from our farms and shared information. It was a great time of sharing, and our friendship and community actions have enabled both of us to reach higher than we could alone.

We loaded Katmandu into the mini-van (yes, we took the van, the truck is still being irksome and my husband says I’m too much a woman to be trusted to drive it yet) and took him home just in time to meet the veterinarian who was going to be drawing blood for disease testing. Finding this vet, who specializes in goats, sheep, and llama, was due to community as well. Our friends from Coble Farm found out our veterinarian difficulties and shared their knowledge of this specialized vet. What a find he proved to be! Expensive, but good. As we got set up, yet more friends, introduced to my circle by the Coble’s, arrived with a truck full of goats for testing as well. Together we save gas and hour-fee money charged by the vet, and we also saved on laboratory processing fees. This family brings contacts into our group for meat and agriculture that astound me, as well as the ability to process meat animals. That is a great gift for all of us softies!

Right after testing was complete and the vet on his way, the Hendricks of Uddermost Urban Farm arrived bearing gifts from their farm and to pick up Katmandu to go visit their does. *Note; Katmandu literally leaped into their truck, by now realizing when he leaves here he gets to see girls. He loves this job he has! The Hendricks, in turn, are going to draw blood and test a mission families herd of goats, deliver medicine, and help get does bred at Little Farm in the Hood. All these people have circles of their own, and all our circles benefit from each other. It’s like I can finally see all the circles in the pond forming and growing, and it makes my heart glad!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blessed by Community

  1. Amelia says:

    What a great day it was for all of us. We enjoyed seeing you and your family again (two- and four-legged ones!) and making new friends. I love just “hanging out” and talking goats. I always learn so much when we visit. Thanks for the Bo-Se and advice. I have emailed Amie about getting up with them for testing. Yes, the ripples are extending toward the shore 🙂

  2. LindaG says:

    How wonderful! I hope we can find like minded people when we finally get to retire.

    Your hubby sounds like mine. He doesn’t like me getting ‘girl cooties’ on his truck. 😉

    • Weeeell….he bought the truck for me, but he doesn’t trust me to drive it right. He and his Dad are always joking I break working vehicles 😉 And as for retiring….I bet you will have a good community!

  3. Robin says:

    I am so amazed at the “new” community…it is no longer enclosed by physical boundries, only by vision! I am proud to be a part of something bigger than myself, and thrilled to share knowledge in so may losy arts.

Leave a Reply

