A Story from Childhood

I saw this photograph on Facebook this morning, and it brought up a river of memories and stories in my mind.

I grew up on 20 acres, surrounded with fields of corn and woodlands. My Dad would hunt on occasion, if he had to, but he preferred to shoot animals with his camera rather than a gun. He taught me to appreciate the wild animals, and to be cautious of them. There were many times throughout childhood I remember a coon coming into the yard in broad daylight, walking right up to us. My Dad would catch it and put it in a cage to make sure it didn’t have distemper or rabies. Sadly, I only remember one of those coons not being sick.

Other coons would peek in our windows, and eat the cat food if it got left outside at night. One coon had a major fight with my Mom’s German Shepherd once. I loved spotting them in the wild, and my Dad told stories of one he had as a pet as a child. They found a bunch of babies where the mother had died and tried to save them. Dad and his siblings saved one, and raised it up. It could open the screen door to the old farmhouse they lived in and loved to mess up Grandma’s kitchen 🙂  She wasn’t too crazy about that, but Grandma was one of those people that could let it go. Eventually the coon made such a nuisance it had to go, but it left stories behind. I gather they finally got it interested in a female and it stayed away after that.

My Dad allowed people to hunt on his land later in my childhood in exchange for the meat of anything caught, so we ate coon many years. I loved the barbeque my Mom made using coon, it was one of my favorite dishes! I remember going out one morning to see 5 coons hung on the clothesline. It made me sad, but Dad said at least if the people hunting for pelts hunted on our land the meat didn’t go to waste. It also made it so my Dad didn’t have to do the killing, something that always bothered him. We never went hungry, but I remember lots of times he would come back from hunting empty-handed and tell us about this majestic animal he didn’t shoot because if it had lived that long, why should he be the one to end it’s life.

So, that’s a little of me. I really loved how I grew up, and this picture just made me think of it. So many memories….

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Story from Childhood

  1. LindaG says:

    Thanks for sharing it with us. 🙂

  2. Laura Little says:

    What a balanced approach toward wildlife your dad had. I’ve always been taught that hunting purely for sport is wasteful and unappreciative. I think if you are going to kill an animal you had better appreciate the sacrifice of that life by making use of every part of it that you can. It’s a Respect thing. I also love that your dad manifested that respect even in his decisions to not shoot some things due to fact they had lived so long. It shows humility on his part. That’s a story to go in family albums. :O)

    • I agree Laura. I have been very grateful for my parents and the way they raised me, and I really respect my Dad for taking care of us even though it wasn’t always how he would have preferred.

Leave a Reply

