I Think it’s Pneumonia

I think I have pneumonia, not just bronchitis. Serves me right for not staying on top of it with my herbs just because I started feeling a little better. It’s clearing out today after mega doses of garlic cloves, elderberry tincture, and eucalyptus essential oil. I need to order some more herbs but found a Trojan on my computer and have not wanted to do any online ordering. One of our children is pretty bad as well, and I got antibiotics for him, but they didn’t do the job. He is not quite as good at taking garlic and such being a child still. So, I have been up since three this morning clearing out my lungs, though I really felt I needed rest, but I may just have to nap today. At least I can take a deep breath again!

We still have no action in the goat barn. I had thought a doe was going to kid, but apparently not. That’s okay, I wanted to have all our blood work back for CAE, Johnes, Brucelosis, and CL before kids hit the ground, and it looks like we will. The results will be a major factor in how we handle kids and milk and culling this year. We will actually be selling adult does for the first time as we strive to improve our base herd this coming spring, and we are going to have a ton of kids for sale as well! We need it to pay the vet bill for testing, lol! And to pay for the roof on the goat barn. So much for the ground we were gaining, but I am glad both are done. I am really loving the new roof; it’s amazing how much better the barn feels, and how much cozier. The wood doesn’t drip on us from condensation when it’s cold out, and it doesn’t roast us in the summer heat. Much better than the tin, and if your building a barn I would recommend you put down decking and tar paper even if you use tin. Just the breathing and body heat from the goats in winter created bad condensation problems on plain tin.

Anyway, I guess this is rambling. It happens when you need sleep but can’t get it. Almost time to get my husband up for work, so off I go. Have a great day!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Think it’s Pneumonia

  1. LindaG says:

    Thanks for the roofing tips.
    Hope you continue to get better, and your kids as well. Maybe you can hide the garlic in a recipe somehow?

    • Your welcome, Linda.
      We eat lots and lots of garlic. I have been making lots of stuff with whole heads of it crushed in it. I was so bad earlier today just peeling the garlic and having the oils on my hands caused my lungs to spasm, but the kids are getting better and so am I. My husband is fighting with everything he has too, he hates missing work, especially in today’s economy.

  2. Laura Little says:

    You take care of yourself and your boys. Napping is good. I used to make baths for the kids and then put “medicine” in the tub. It still got into them one way or the other! Still do it today with lavender in a “tea bag” to swish in a bath when my son needs to calm down.

    • I did take take a nap, amazingly enough! 2 whole hours, and the boys got up and played quietly so I could stay asleep. The herbs are clearing my chest, but I have ordered essential oils to make thieves oil, plus herbs for tea that will help. I will probably be well by the time it all gets here, but if not… Thanks Laura 🙂

Leave a Reply

