Jumping in with BOTH Feet, Oh Heaven’s, What Have I Done?!

Okay, so I have been upset with some issues regarding the nigerian dwarf breed of goats. I find some of the regulations for breed standards to be wrong in a production animal, and spoke out about it on Facebook. I was directed to a new group being formed called Nigerian Dwarf Society (NDS). This is a group ofย  breeders fighting for the right to be on the same page as standard breed dairy goats in regards to buck height limits. ADGA (American Dairy Goat Society) has been in a muddle over the height issue of nigerian dwarf bucks, and recently has proposed action to remove from registries bucks that go over height and all their offspring. This would be a major problem for many who suddenly find out a sire of their animals was over-height and their registration be revoked just because at maturity the buck went a little over height. Currently, nigerian dwarf bucks have to be nearly the size of does, something not found in any of the other breeds where there is a much larger number of inches allowed between bucks and does. NDS is seeking to find more reliable ways of measuring the nigerian dwarf so there is not such a discrepancy from one person to another measuring, and they are also seeking to change the buck height limit to be more in line with the difference allowed other breeds. Also in consideration are bucks that go over height but consistently produce offspring under the height limits at maturity not having their offspring discounted just because of the sires height.

Since this group is in the founding stage many things are happening. The secretary position became available, and I have put my name on the ballot. I am excited at the prospect of being active in changing things so those of us breeding for milk production while preserving the smaller height of the nigerian dwarf goat can continue in our endeavors without fear of being excluded due to some buck used in his youth reaching a mature height later on that is perfectly normal for a nigerian dwarf buck who matured over the imposed height standard. That said, what am I getting myself into?! Wow….

In addition to this, I have agreed to do our homeschool group’s newsletter. I am hoping to get some help with it from teens, but will be allowing my children to assist me in creating it quarterly to give them practical experience with something providing information to others. I feel this is an important skill, and intend to use it to develop skills they can use later in life. I almost turned it down as I have so many things that already take my time that I didn’t want another thing to do that took away time from my children, but then I thought how much they would enjoy working with me on it and I decided to go ahead and give it a shot. If it doesn’t work for we just won’t do it next year.

While these two things have been added, we are also working on our fall/winter garden and preparing for a large number of goat babies to be born, plus getting ready to order fall chicks and move our coop. I need to cut our current flock back to just the hens I want to winter over, and get rid of the rest, either as food for us or as layers for someone else. It is a lot to tackle, but we are hanging in, despite illness for the past two weeks. Thankfully most of us are on the mend, and able to make strides forward in work and school.

The fall garden is producing well, and I am in the process of planning a winter garden and procuring seed. I want to build a greenhouse over one of the raised beds so that I can grow more crops later into the year. I also bought annual rye grass today to spread out in the lawns and pasture to provide additional food for the animals over the winter. Chickens and goats both love it.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jumping in with BOTH Feet, Oh Heaven’s, What Have I Done?!

  1. Laura Little says:

    You always seem to have so much energy. I’m sure you’ll do well. Just pace yourself. Very interesting about the standards for Nigerians. I hadn’t known that.

    • A lot of people do not realize the height issues of bucks until too late. And some people simply don’t bother with registering ND’s because of it, too many things to keep track of. If the bucks can be just a little taller, more in line with the height difference allowed in other breeds, it will mean more people able to keep the gene pool growing and keep the dairy aspect of these little goats strong. It gets really hard to milk a goat that is so short you can’t even get a cup under her tummy. Even pygmy bucks are allowed to be taller than nigerian dwarf goats!

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ Pacing is the key, isn’t it?

  2. Amelia says:

    Thanks for being an advocate for our chosen breed of goat. I’m not in to all that, but I’m glad someone whose opinion I trust is — YOU! You continue to amaze me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Amelia ๐Ÿ™‚ The buck issue is why I sold Rascal. He may have been great to breed with, but I could tell he was tall. It was frustrating to give him up just because I thought he would go a little taller than registries want.

  3. LindaG says:

    Good luck getting the registry changed.
    And good luck with your other endeavors. Glad to hear everyone is getting better.
    Have a blessed weekend!

  4. (((Nigerian Meadows!)))
    BTW…do you have a name I can call you other than that one?! I know “you” are female and I feel funny calling you by your farm name! Lol
    Ok…I loved this article! Breeding many types of goats, both meat and dairy, I get tired of the stereotypical standards being placed on these animals! They evolve….just like any mammal or whatever species you speak of. I applaud (((YOU!))) I hope you get to the level of helping bring common sense into judging breed standards! :o)
    And….about your fall garden! I have 3!!! I have been picking root veggies and greens for over a week now. They store and freeze so well! Bless you homesteading Sister!
    Be safe and blessed! Keep loving your kids…I’m sure you are the most awesome home-schooling Momma on the web!!!
    Good Night….xo xo

    • Hey there Sarah! My name is Jordana, I just try to keep a semi-low profile, lol!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I hate to say it, but there is only so much changing that can happen when dealing with large groups of people, especially when the prevailing influence goes in a different direction, but baby steps help move things eventually.

      Wow, three gardens?! That is awesome! How you have been blessed, but what a lot of work as well ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep hoping someone in walking distance will let me garden a plot of land, but so far no luck.

Leave a Reply

