NC State Fair, 2011

We went to the NC State Fair for the first time this year!   I have wanted to take the kids for a while now, but JJ’s tendency to disappear and Jameson’s sensory issues helped me make the choice to wait, and I am glad I did! They had a great time today, but I don’t think it would have gone as well even last year. Jameson steered clear of noisy rides and complained that everyone was yelling in his ears (no one really was, it was a lot for an autistic child to handle with the huge number of people all talking and pushing too close, music, smells, etc.) but he had a great time! JJ kept hold of my hand and didn’t get lost once, though I made him wear a sticker with names and contact info anyway. What impressed me the most was that the boys rode the rides alone! They were so proud of themselves 🙂

I was somewhat shocked at how small the agricultural part of the fair was considering it was the state fair. Growing up we had a small county fair that couldn’t be beat, and there were huge buildings full of entries in agriculture and animals, plus science and craft projects. My parents always said it was the best fair they had seen, and now I see why. There were really 2 things to do at the fair, spend money and view advertising, and go on rides and play expensive games. The kids had a great time because we let them do rides, but I don’t think it would have been so great if we hadn’t. We went through the exhibit buildings, but they were not very large or have all that many contributors. It did inspire the kids to ask if they could enter stuff next year, though, so I think we will work toward that. In the meantime, here are some pictures of our day 🙂

The Swings

The Boys on the Swings

The Cobra; They said this one was a little too fast, lol!

They loved this one, The Hanglider, but look at how small they seem in the cage! Made my momma's heart nearly faint with fear, lol!

They harvested crops, sold them at market, and paid for a goodie bag at the end with their earnings 🙂

Mmmm...cotton candy!

JJ liked cotton candy too!

This little bus was a highlight. It talked to them and answered and asked questions. They couldn't believe it could talk to them!

A game where they used a mallat to hit a circle and send squeaky pigs and chickens flying 🙂

A picture with the HUGE pumpkins and watermellon.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NC State Fair, 2011

  1. LindaG says:

    What a wonderful day. I am so glad it turned out to be a good one for you all. 🙂

  2. Laura Little says:

    Totally relate to the tendency to get lost and the sensory issues. Craig always disappeared and then would never respond to the calling of his name. We bought walkie talkies for that at a certain point as he would respond to a ‘page’ on the walkie. Glad you had a good time, and sad to see the ag part so small. Wonder if that was by intent on the part of the planners or reflective of a decline?

Leave a Reply

