My Backyard is Growing…smaller?!

Okay, okay! I have missed it on here! My computer is being naughty and it’s very difficult to keep it running long enough to blog, so instead I have been reading….and planning….and listening to my husband plead with me NOT to do anything before he gets home from work and has had time to think. Uh-hmmm….I wouldn’t do that……. would I?

Alright, so, I have been planning! I have also been doing, sort of. Not much, things keep coming up, like, ohhhh, teaching my kids, processing deer, laundry, you know, the mundane stuff! Anyway, I made a map of the back yard and what’s in it. Then I stayed modest and added in just a couple of things I want to do. At least there. I have a few more things planned for the front and sides. Okay, maybe more than a couple, but I probably won’t get to all of them in the next year. I do have to stay sane you know!

So by now your telling me to get on with this and impart my infinite wisdom so you can model me, I know 🙂 Okay, FIRST! I want to get my raised bed covered with a greenhouse. I am still debating which way to go one that, so it’s not done. I am also planning next years seed order. BUT! And this is big. I don’t know exactly how my beds are going to be due to the fact I wish to start an aquaponics system. That’s where you raise fish, filter the water through plants and rock, and it rejuvenates the fish tank! Awesome, right?! So all I need to do is design a home-built tank and plant beds on a wall system and figure out the plumbing before spring, and design the greenhouse that will surround it in winter. Simple… okay, maybe not, but I’m working on it! Here is the backyard. I hope you can see it, lol!

Our backyard

I am also planning the addition of bee hives. That might not make a lot of people very happy, but we are in the country. I am shifting them away from the neighbors in deference to the lady of the house being allergic. We are also devising a new chicken pen/run. And grape arbors over the buck pen to give shade. And you know, that might be a good idea over the doe pen too. They have no sun shelter. Edible sun shade…sweet! I can just see them climbing on one another to get to the leaves, lol! Oh! I can’t forget the herb beds in front, or an official compost heap! I have not done well with composting. I usually let the chickens turn it for a while and work it in around the fruit trees, but I want to start my own seeds this year instead of getting whatever the local stores are carrying. I have not been very successful at that, I always kill them trying to harden them off, but am hoping a greenhouse will be my ticket to success. Really hoping! So, here’s to planning! I hope your having fun planning for next year too!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Backyard is Growing…smaller?!

  1. Laura Little says:

    So, this is what you do to recover from pneumonia! Planning is very good. But listen to your hubby and wait til he comes home to build the greenhouse!

    • Ummm…yeah? Stupid me, I was out in severe cold wind yesterday and it has taken it’s tole. I’m having some hot water with lemon and honey right now to make me feel better. I want my body better!

  2. mbcagle@juno.com says:

    I have been reading your blog and enjoying all of it. I am a homeschooling mother of seven children. I live on 8/10 of an acre. I have 4 Nigerian Dwarf does, 4 beehives, 14 chickens, 13 Muscovy ducks, a few quail, 3 dogs, 2 cats, and 2 hedgehogs. I hope to add meat rabbits in the next couple of months. I also have a large garden and can quite a bit of it. Thank you for sharing your experiences!!!

    • Oh, your homestead sounds awesome! I would love to see how you do things. I’m always looking to improve, and pooling ideas is the best way. How do you have your bees set up? I am worried I don’t really have the right place for them, but you have a small amount of land to work with too, so maybe I really can! How do your ducks work out? Are they kept with the chickens, do the birds all range the yard? I almost got some ducks a week ago, but wasn’t sure if it would work out. Thanks for commenting, and thank you for reading; I’m really glad to meet you!

Leave a Reply

