No more animals in my house!!!!

The bottle baby goats that were keeping warm in the house went to a new home this morning! And…the chicks are out of the house too!!!! Yes, you read that right! Our week-old chicks now have an outdoor shelter/brooder. I still need to do a couple things to it before real cold sets in, but they are keeping warm, they are on the ground and not in a box, they have more space and can’t fly out, and I don’t have to breath chicken all day! I used stuff I had laying around and a small enclosure we had for the guineas back when we first brought them home, and I think it turned out rather well. My husband came out to work on it with me (I have such an awesome man!!). Take a look!

This is the shed. It is in the garden.

This is the front. As the chicks get bigger I can give them "outdoor" space.

And these are the happy babies 🙂

After getting the shelter set up, I helped my husband film a video before taking the chicks out. I thought you might enjoy it, so here it is 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No more animals in my house!!!!

  1. LindaG says:

    Congratulations! Your new chick brooder looks like it will work quite well. 🙂

  2. Laura Little says:

    Did he say there were ‘hot chicks in the jacuzzi’? lol!

Leave a Reply

