Just Farm Stuff

It’s quiet in the house right now. All my men, big and little, are asleep. I should be as well, but when I woke up in the warm bath I remembered I had not eaten or taken my medicine yet, so here I am. I know tomorrow will be busy, so I figured I would put a post out for my friends.

I went to the doctor at long last yesterday. I was approaching pneumonia again, which didn’t  surprise me. I am now on antibiotics and steroids. Fun, fun, fun (NOT!). They are helping though, so soon I should be back to being my productive self. I wanted to rest today, but I had to move 2,000 pounds of Chaffhaye out of my truck. I was zapped after that! Oh, and our son JJ got a new bike today. It’s a nice one, and we used his Christmas money to help him pay for it. He is only 6 years old, so I think he did pretty good coming up with half.

We were all set to enjoy a movie I picked up at Goodwill when the call for another deer came in. Yeah, rest wasn’t in my day today. It was a big one, too, and the coat was in such good shape I decided to flesh it for tanning as well. That made it take a little longer, but all was done within 3 hours, and we have another liver and a partial heart for eating tomorrow.  I lost my camera or I might take some pictures 🙂  Hubby helped me move the smaller of our two freezers into the house so I can get it cleaned up and use it for meat. I am also planning to can some of this one, plus continue making broth. I put up 7 quarts yesterday, and have about that much more ready, plus bones in the freezer and the cooler and expecting more deer this weekend. God has interesting ways of providing, let me tell you! Oh, we contemplated eating the brain, but I have never gotten a brain out before. Hubby says we would have to crack the…uh… well, I’m sure you know. I had brain once when on a trip with a couple guys to go white water rafting in Wisconsin. We stopped in Chicago, IL. at a Pakistani place (they were from Pakistan, thus the choice). Anyway, one of the guys recommended this dish in a language I couldn’t understand as a joke and it was served up. They told me what it was and I dove in; it looked good, and tasted awesome! (plus, I am not one to pass up a challenge, so even if it had been horrid I would have eaten it, lol!). All that said, I have never harvested a brain, and they don’t exactly teach that anymore. I need to get my father-in-law to come out when I’m not afraid of getting him sick and have him teach me how. Hubby knows, sort of, but I don’t think he has actually done it before either.

In other news, and slightly less gory, all the animals are doing well. I have lot’s of cleaning to get done if I am feeling better tomorrow in between deer processing and basic cleaning and caring for our kids. Abby said she would come out and help if I needed, and I may call her up. It’s always more fun with help, and the kids all play together real well. Now I must be off to bed so I can get well to do all this. Night, friends!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Farm Stuff

  1. Laura Little says:

    Take better care of yourself! And try the old Joy of Cooking. They tell you how to do everything in that book!

  2. Jule says:

    Glad you went to the doctor and are feeling better! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

