Deer and a Future

We have been very blessed with food this year. As I clean deer that hunters have brought us I think of all the people it could feed. There are so many people that go hungry needlessly with the number of sports hunters out there. Thankfully, some of them refuse to kill anything that won’t be eaten, yet they do not want to go to all the work to clean and process the meat for someone else, so you have to be willing to do the job yourself. It is unfortunate in our country that so few people are even willing to eat wild game, much less clean and process it themselves. Even just the bones can provide nutrition for a family in the form of broth/stock with just a little water and a few cheap vegetables, and there is no wild, gamey taste.

Here is something that has shocked me: my husband has had a number of people tell him we are gross for even eating the meat, much less cleaning it or touching it. People think less of us, even commenting that they would never eat something nasty like that. After all, they only want to eat good meat from a package in the store. Yet, what so many don’t understand, is the state of the livestock they are getting in the stores. The antibiotics and growth hormones, the genetically engineered feed, the filthy conditions, etcetera.ย  Doctors tell people not to eat red meat, and of course chicken in moderation because it’s not really good for you either. It’s interesting that if you eat wild game many health conditions can improve and shock doctors. Blood pressure, cholesterol, heart disease, they all respond to eating wild game. I would say many of our health problems stem from these high-priced, packaged foods on supermarket shelves, and it saddens me. It hurts to see children who’s parents are told not to give them fats like whole (much less raw) milk, butter, coconut oil, palm oil, and organ meats that are rich in vitamins. No, instead give your child sandwiches and cheerios, lunch meats and soy cheese. Feed your child “healthful” fat’s like canola oil, margarine, and shortening. Give them foods with artificial colors, and artificial flavors, and sugar in everything. Give your baby cereal in his formula, and baby foods that have no enzymes left for digestion.ย  So few people realize that if they spend more of their money on good, filling, healthful foods they will spend less on food in the long run (ever eaten an entire box of cereal because you can’t get full on air?) and less on doctor visits. You will not see the ADD, digestive disorders, behavior issues, blood pressure and heart disease issues, and the like as much with better diet. For all we have achieved in medicine, you would think people would live longer and better, but it is not the case. And there is so much opposition to those that try to make better choices and who try to teach others why it works that people are afraid. Farms with milk shares get raided, farm to plate dinners get targeted by “health departments”, growers of heirloom plants can be treated as drug lords. It sickens me. And I can’t help thinking about it and feeling trapped, caged into conforming or becomingย  the enemy.

Still, for our family, we fight back! It’s a lot of work to keep goats, chickens, and rabbits. It’s exhausting in today’s sportsman’s paradise, where deer can only be taken for a few weeks instead of as needed, to clean and package all that meat and can the bone stocks. It’s hard to offer people food in your home that you have worked hard for and have them think less of you because you eat it. Still, there are others that want to learn. There are those that ask questions and want to help so they can do these things for themselves. They are willing to give up things like convenience, time, energy and the like to raise and prepare good food. They are willing to try new things. These are the people that will be ready when disaster strikes. They will have skills most have thought forgotten. When income is scarce, these people will have food to eat and clothes to wear. It may not be a grand way to live by our societies standards, but it is good. What a blessing are hands that are willing to work for the good things ๐Ÿ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Deer and a Future

  1. I would much rather eat a wild animal or a humanely pastured animal than the garbage commercially produced in the grocery store. I didn’t realize that what you eat has now fallen into the realm of hoity toity.

    • My husband came home from work about a week ago and said he guessed he shouldn’t tell people we had good deer to eat because they were so judgmental about it. He said he got some downright dirty comments on our choices of food. It’s sad. Knowing the things I do make it very hard to go to a store and buy anything now; all I can see is sickness in the meat, dairy, and even the vegetables. Much better to eat in season, local, and wild!

  2. Rachel says:

    It’s so very sad that people feel this way. My father had someone tell him that it was terrible to raise your own meat or hunt because you could just go to the store and get it there where animals weren’t hurt. This was someone in their mid-30s. I can’t believe how stupid people are. And I don’t say that often, but it’s just stupidity to think that the food in the store is healthier or raised more humanely than the food raised by local farmers or shot in the woods.

    Tonight for dinner we are having chicken soup, from the 3 roosters we raised and butchered over the weekend. I also added carrots from our garden and other veggies that I did purchase at a store. People would be horrified to know that the roosters were killed right here in our backyard though.

    • Good for you! I bet that chicken soup was really good!!!! We have heard the dumb comments on store meat not being from animals that have been “harmed”, lol! Bambi started a slew of softies that just want to be ignorant so they don’t feel bad, but I feel a lot worse eating an animal that faced a slaughter house than one that was butchered humanely in a quiet, relaxed environment.

  3. LindaG says:

    they only want to eat good meat from a package in the store. These are the same people who can’t understand why people raise and kill chickens when you can just go to the store and buy one.

    It is terrible that the small farm(er) is penalized and the places like Con Agra are almost given a free pass.

    Thank you for this post. When my husband starts hunting again, I hope I can come to you with questions I have.
    Have a blessed afternoon!

  4. Patty says:

    Here here! This is a great post! There are a lot of us with you on this, so hang in there and know that what you are doing is very valuable. We garden and preserve, raise chickens for meat and eggs, rabbits for meat, and are just getting started on goats. We also hunt and process the deer we get. It’s a sometimes exhausting but very rewarding way of life.
    I love how you even use the bones to make broth. I haven’t done that yet with the deer. I was going to this year, but someone discouraged me – I can’t remember the reason they gave – but anyway I think if we get another deer before the season ends I will just go ahead and do it. So, thanks a lot for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Patty! I do hope you get to make bone broth. In case you want to know what I do (I LOVE good stock!) fill a big pot with meaty bones, even the vertebra and neck bones. Cover with water and bring to a boil. Skim off the foam, then add 1-2 tablespoons vinigar 9doesn’t matter which kind) to draw nutrients out of the bones. Add 1-2 onions, a whole head of peeled garlic, 2-3 carrots, 2-3 stalks celery, a handful of fresh parsley or cilantro, 1 tablespoon whole pepper corns. Cover and simmer for 24-72 hours (don’t let it run dry!). Strain into jars and cool, then refridgerate over night. In the morning you can skim off the fat to use for cooking or soap and then freeze or pressure can the broth for later. If it’s very cooked down it will be amber in color, more water is paler, more creamy and white. I like it very rich so it takes less storage space, but I have to add equal parts water when making most things.

      Your farm sounds wonderful! It’s so nice to be on here and see so many people who are doing the same things; it gives me hope!

  5. jill says:

    I wandered over here from the ‘Good enough farm’ and this story caught my attention because we just spent the weekend previous cleaning and processing a deer by son shot on our property. We love venison and I was almost out of the stock we had from the deer he got last year.

    I think it’s wonderful that he was able to shoot his own food and with the help of my fiance he cleaned and processed the entire thing himself! He would be able to feed himself and a family if he needed to – I think that is a very healthy and useful skill to have.

    We even salted the skin and he is going to work on preserving it mostely just as a decorative piece in his room but if we had to, we could use it for any number of things as well.

    I hope you don’t mind if I stick around a bit and read more of your blog – sounds like we have a lot in common. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Welcome Jill! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ I love Laura’s blog at Good Enough Farm, she has an awesome sense of humor and interesting writing style, not to mention great topics!

      Congratulations to your son on his deer! It’s awesome to hear when people take steps to get their own food, whether raising it or hunting and fishing. And good for you, encouraging him and helping him use what he harvests! To be that kind of man, he had to have learned from a great mom ๐Ÿ™‚ We are going to use our hides as well, they are in the freezer at the moment. I want to make clothes with them. I can hardly wait to share that experience, lol!

Leave a Reply

