Bareing My Soul: A Look in the Kitchen Cupboards

To know a lot about a person, all one has to do is go through their kitchen, especially true for women most times. Some kitchens are seldom used, some are impeccably clean, some you wouldn’t want to look at much less eat out of. The kitchen reflects the families life-style, the things that are important to them. Many kitchens today reflect the families busy-ness, their desire for convenience. The essentials are usually there, but it is mostly used for a quick snack or a boxed dinner before running off to baseball or cheer-leading practice, or the late meeting your boss called. Other kitchens are warm and inviting, with scents from food cooking and coffee brewing, music playing in the background to someone banging dishes. The floor in these kitchens may be littered with playdough and children, spills from the food being prepared, dirt from the many family and friends passing through during the day to say hello. I think this is the kind of kitchen that calls to us. It is the one pictured in magazines and old photos of what a home is, and I think many crave it and just don’t know how to find it in today’s busy world.

Thinking aside, I wanted to bring you into my kitchen this morning. It’s not pretty or up-to-date. My 8-year old scrubbed the floor, and there are paint spots that just don’t come off. The counters are covered in food, cookbooks, and schedules, in addition to the things left as our children pass through. I wanted to take you into our food areas, share how we are eating and living. Only in the last year have we turned our cupboards into almost all basic ingredients instead of packaged foods, and we have been working toward that for years. It was really hard for me to give up the convenience of them. As many of you know, while I do not work, I am still very busy, and it takes so long plan and prepare food. The more I am in the kitchen, though, the more I love being in it and the more I want to make it friendly and warm. I hope this peek serves as an encouragement that you can take your kitchen, and life, back from the busy life that has stolen it from you, even if it’s just being too busy on the homestead.

Pumpkins being prepped for seeds and puree, pumpkin butter and pie filling

Told you the counters were covered! My mixers (plural, yes) gluten-free starches, boxes of seaweed, Crisco (used for cakes I make for events)

The small freezer where I first put meat before moving it to the 2 chest freezers 🙂 And I keep butter here! Mmmm....we use a lot of butter!

Our fridge has labels in it right now, but normally it's filled with jars of milk, cream, kefir, yogurt, and buttermilk from our own goats, and bowls of cheese and eggs. The hen's are moulting and we are just now getting milk again, so.....

The herb cupboard! Low, cool, and dark, this is where we keep our medicine herbs. Off the top of my head I know we have comfrey, thyme, cinnamon sticks, anise seed, yarrow, white willow, slippery elm, arnica flowers, peppermint....too many to list, lol!

Half of the cupboard I have been building. I like tins 🙂

Sugar for guests, black and red lentils, millet, buckwheat groats, coffee... 😉

Canned goods, at least some of them. Room for more as I am still canning. This is 21 quarts of deer stock and 10 jars tomato sauce.

Canned meat, elderberry juice, some of my oils, stuff I still buy packaged (much of which is well over a year old becuase it's only for serving guests who like things "normal".

So, I guess I could go on, but I’m probably boring you. I have shelves of oils for cooking a making soap, essential oils for everything under the sun, cupboards full of pots and pans and baking sheets. Someday I will have real cupboards that are pretty, and decorations on the walls, and a booth for people to sit at and visit with me while we work (I often have extra hands in the kitchen). For now, I hope you enjoyed a peek into my soul, for to me the kitchen is the start of everything for my family. It is where our health starts, the energy and peace begins to carry us through the days. It’s where I pour out my love for family, friends and guests. Thanks for visiting 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bareing My Soul: A Look in the Kitchen Cupboards

  1. LindaG says:

    I love that you use BUTTER and Crisco. I love that you have 2 mixers.
    Just curious, why do you put meat in the refrigerator freezer before the chest freezer? Is it just convenience or is there a reason I should know?
    You have so much knowledge.
    I love your cupboards. I like tins, too, but don’t have anywhere to keep them yet.
    I collect puzzles. I remember doing them with my Granny and look forward to having a place to do them again.
    You didn’t bore me at all. You could do these posts all the time and I’d read them all because the do inspire me. 🙂 I don’t know what you mean by real cupboards. Yours look perfect to me.

    Thanks for inviting me. Have a blessed weekend! 🙂

    • Thank you Linda!

      Ok, the reason for the meat in the small freezer first. As I understand it, the faster you freeze the meat all the way the better the quality (less time for pathogen growth. In a chest freezer the meat doesn’t freeze the same at different levels, and the fuller it gets the longer it takes to freeze the meat. It’s better to freeze in single layers or on wire racks and then transfer to deep storage. Another note on chest freezers: you have to rotate the bottom meat to the top every couple of months or it will sometimes unfreeze if there is not enough air space around the packages, and then you will lose a good portion of your food. This happened to my parents last year and they lost the bottom half of their meat.

      Oh, I LOVE puzzles! I have a closet full of them and the kids put them together with me on winter days 🙂 I like the thousand and above piece ones with lots of color 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the trip into my home, and thank you for the encouragement!

      • LindaG says:

        Oh wow. I thought the only reason you rotated the meat was to use the older first.
        But I guess I see now that it helps with that air space you are talking about.
        Thanks again! 🙂

  2. Laura Little says:

    And that is why you need to have open cupboards. It’s a treat to the eye, a pleasure to the soul. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

